Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I'm not sure what happened, but I doubled the recipe and there was no where near enough liquid. I doubled the cream, and the dough was decent to work with, but the cookies tasted awful. Way too much salt I think? Perhaps the recipe should say unsalted butter or use salted butter and no additional salt? Either way, a waste of time and ingredients and a big mess to clean up for cookies no one would eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I read the review that gave one star so was a bit worried but I tried it any way. I made them with my 10 kids and they were awesome! These cookies will be our Christmas cookie from now on. The kids make cookies every yearand these were the best ever! I used fresh nutmeg instead od mace. Thanks for this awesome cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennijohnt
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
fantastic! love that it is a pastry-like, yet soft sugar cookie. Have made them twice. Once with nutmeg, the next with a about a 1/2 tsp of almond extract (both times in place of the mace) Fabulous both ways! Love that it is not necessary to prepare ahead and allow to chill for hours before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was the worst cookie recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe to the T. I checked 3 times to make sure I didn't write something down wrong. The dough seemed way to dry, almost to the point of crumbling, and they didn't cook well either, I had to cook double the time to get them all the way through and the tops never even turned golden while the bottoms turned brown. The taste wasn't horrible, but was pretty bland. Also the icing did not taste good at all, but it may just be more for decorating than for flavor. This is just my opinion from my experience with this recipe. I will not be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These cookies turned out really good. The best thing is that you don't have to put the dough in the fridge and wait like you do with so many other sugar cookie recipes. We substitued whole milk for cream and garam masala for mace, just because that's what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The dough was very good, but it was difficult to make. Do not make this if you're in a hurry. I will try it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Attention all those with Gluten intolerance: this recipe works very well with the 'Featherlight' flour mix (1 cup tapioca flour, 1 cup corn starch, 1 cup white rice flour, 1 tsp potato flour), a bit on the crumbly side so refrigerate until chilled and then serve chilled. nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
GREAT FOR KIDS. I make this recipe often with my two kids. The best part is that you don't need to refridgerate the dough. I add a couple tablespoons extra flour to make sure the dough isn't sticky. Really good frosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
One of the best tasting sugar cookies I have tried; must be the cream :) Mine did not brown after about 15 minutes in the oven, and that pan was pretty crispy (couldn't get them off the pan without breaking birdy legs and umbrella handles), so I set my timer for 10 minutes and they were perfect. Didn't brown but did puff up really nicely, I don't like my sugar cookies too thin and crispy and these are the perfect combo of easy to travel but not rock hard. I had help from my 5-year old rolling and cutting, and we re-rolled enough times that by the last rolling there was quite a bit of extra flour in there! Still tender and good though. I did skip the icing this time because I had promised we could make paintbrush cookies; before baking, paint cookies with a mixture of an egg yolk, dash of water, and food coloring. Lots of fun but somewhat time consuming, good for rainy days! Then sprinkle with a little sugar and bake as usual. Next time I would like to try the icing though. I've never had a cookie recipe ask me to cut in the butter, so the texture seemed really weird; I had to work it a bit with my hands and then it rolled out smooth and perfect, easy to work with. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These cookies were a big hit at my son's class (K-5) Christmas party. Everyone loved 'em. They asked for more and more. I used a Christmas tree cookie cutter. I will make these over and over again. Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marleny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States