Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
my neice and i could not do anything with this ,we didn't want to throw it out so we just spead it all on the cookie sheet and hope we can eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I followed the recipe verbatim. I had no problems with my dough being too dry/wet. However, they lacked a sugar cookie texture and taste after baked, they were more like biscuits that were somewhat sweet (similar to strawberry shortcake bread). Maybe this is what 'old fashioned' sugar cookies are supposed to taste like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make these cookies every year and they are wonderful! You definitely have to follow directions exactly. (That's how baking usually is!) However, I did flake out one year and forgot the vanilla. They still tasted great thanks to the cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This dough was way sticky. My children and I couldn't even cut out any shapes as the dough was sticking everywhere even with tons of flour. And the cinnamon flavor was too strong for a traditional sugar cookie taste--I would leave that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I gave this recipe one star only because I could not rate it any lower. The dough is so sticky I couldn't get it off my hands. It tasted so bad we threw it away instead of waste more time baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I have been making this since 2002 and it is one of my family & friend's favorites. Have no problem with too much or too little flour and freeze half for later! Make them at Easter, Christmas and now Halloween! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I am not an experienced cookie maker, but I followed the recipe, and I too had to add flour before rolling out. The final product turned out to be very bland. Not horrible, but not real great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly and could not believe how sticky the dough was. I was very skeptical that it could actually be rolled out, but hoped refrigerating would help it set. After refrigerating overnight, the dough was still too wet. I added flour until it could be rolled. I cut and baked the cookies, but they came out more like biscuits and very bland. The sprinkled sugar burns between batches so you have to clean the sheets. Ended up baking only half the batch and throwing most of the cookies out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
The cookies were delicious- exceptionally sweet and just the right combination of crispiness and gooeyness. I used cookie cutters to punch out shapes in the dough and that worked out very easily. However, I would suggest either halving or scaling the recipe because it became an all-day event with never-ending leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Cookies were very tasty. At first I thought that it would be too much flour, but then it ended up being not enough. I had to add a lot when my 2 year old and I rolled them out and cut them with the cookie cutters. We gave them to our neighbors and they just loved them. It made about 50 cookies, so next time I will half the recipe. It is a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States