Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Sorry, I have not tried this recipe, but gave it 4 stars because it is close to the one I've used for years. I use more broth...3 to 4 cups, and the best results come from using broth and drippings from your baked turkey. I also add about two cups of diced turkey...those little tender niblets you can get from the neck and wing meat. Our "clan" family always made a huge pan of plain dressing plus a pan of oyster dressing on Thanksgiving day. My grandmother never wrote down her recipe either, but one day I stood in her kitchen with paper and pen and asked her to tell me the best she could. So glad I did. Been making it for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is one of my favorite recipes on this site. It was a big hit this Thanksgiving. There's a lot more work involved than busting out a box of instant stuff, but it was so worth it. Great flavor and texture. I never imagined adding eggs to stuffing but it so works! My only concern is that the recipe didn't seem to make as much as I thought it would. I recommend doubling it if you have a houseful coming over for turkey day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Snow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I followed it exactly as written, but found that the finished product was very bland. I have since read the other reviewers and will definitely add more spices if I make this again. I even went out and bought rubbed sage, but maybe I should have also added thyme or poultry seasoning. Like I said, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I thought it was good, but lacked spices. I will try it again and use more to see if i get get the taste right. BTW, I used everything Gluten Free. I used the Udi's Gluten Free Multigrain. The consistency was great I just thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Became a rock hard brick. Perhaps if more liquid was used it would have worked, but I could not even bring myself to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Recipe got rave reviews from my Thanksgiving guests, but I did make adjustments: -Used 4 c. broth instead of two -Added another egg, meaning 3 eggs instead of 4 -I didn't drain the onions and celery before adding to bread -Added 3 teaspoons fresh sage instead of two -Added 1 teaspoon thyme -As well, I cubed the bread the day before and toasted, then left out all night If you want to make this ahead of time, have some extra chicken broth on hand to baste the stuffing for reheating - the stuffing can easily dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Love it very healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is exactly like my mother in law's recipe except that she didn't include celery and garlic and did add giblets chopped up. I just wanted to chime in about dry stuffing reviews. When she taught me to make this, there was no measure on the broth. Her instructions were to add the broth in, cup by cup and when I could take two hands, grab some stuffing and form a softball size ball that held together, that was enough liquid. I have used the same "measurement" for 30+ years and everyone loves it. Always moist. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Just like my Mimmie made except we broke the bread up in peices and let dry for a couple days tossing gently. You can put in 200 degree oven to toast the bread also. Very gently mixing ingredients to keep fluffy and we used 3 eggs. Very good recipe and good oldfashion southern eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States