Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I gave this four stars only because I made changes. I took advice of others and added 1 tsp. thyme, 1 tsp. more sage, 2c. more broth which I used to baste during baking and used 1/2 croutons 1/2 bread. I also added a can of mushrooms and let it sit in the fridge overnight. It came out so moist and so good people kept going back for more. One person told me it was the best stuffing he had ever had! That meant a lot because he thinks stuffing is the best thing on earth! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a return to "yesteryear". A recipe that my Mom used to make. However, to indulge my wife's Mother's recipe I made couple of addtions in ingredients as well as sequence steps: Within the celery volume I added cellery leaves. I added 1/2 cup of minced parsley. I shortened the drying time by first toasting all the bread to a light brown color...and then placing the slices in a large casserole dish in the microwave on a medium setting for 5 minutes. Then repeating it as needed until the bread was rigid when the microwave power was interrupted by opening the door and checking. That saved the 24hr drying time and brought it down into about 20 minutes. I did not use a rolling pin to crush the bread into total crumbs, but crushed it by hand until there were crumbs and pieces in the bowl. Pieces were never larger than the average thumbnail and there were a lot of crumbs. After placing the crushed bread in a bowl, add the dry ingredient-spices and thoroughly mix them together before adding the eggs and chicken broth. Then mix the eggs and chicken broth together before adding to the crumb-spice mixture. Then add the results of the sauted onion-celery mix without draining it. Add more water if needed at this point so the resultant stuffing is moist and clumps together, but is not a mushy mess. Four family traditions loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Absolutely incredible!!!!!!! My mam-maw used to make this and unfortunately she never wrote down the recipe. My mother have tried to duplicate it with no luck! I was determined to find this recipe for Thanksgiving this year, and here it is. I will say that I changed it a little: I used about a tablespoon of sage, and I did half and half fresh bread and the herbed Pepperidge Farm bread crumbs. Mam-maw used to use cornbread as well, but I was too busy to make any--next time I might add that as well. Again, thank you so much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
It was a wonderful stuffing recipe! We loved it. It was so easy and so tasty~ we cooked it in a turkey and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is a good starter recipe for homemade stuffing - the hardest part is prepping. The end result is good, but lacking substantial flavor. We added 1 cup more chicken broth and upped the dose of sage. (The called-for liquid amount is already too low, so more chicken broth makes the bread more moist and flavorful.) It's hard to give up Stove Top, but making your own is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I loved this recipe, and so did my family. I should have made a double batch, because they scraped the pan. The only thing I did differently was to baste this dressing a couple of times with a turkey baster full of juice from the turkey I had roasted earlier in the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I was invited to my bf's sisters house for thanksgiving last year and was asked to bring the stuffing, I used this recipe and followed it to the T...and I don't know about you guys, but when the grandmother stands up and says this is delicious stuffing, I don't know what other compliment can be better. Mind you, she made her own stuffing too...and she actually like mine better. Thanks for the recipe, this year, they are all coming to our place for thanksgiving. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Popo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This rcipe is great! It reminds me of my grandmothers stuffing, Thank You! Denicew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I used rye bread and added mushrooms for a twist. It really gives it that extra flavor everyone says this stuffing is missing. It's been a favorite of my entire family for years. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Good basic stuffing. I used brownberry seasoned bread cubes. I cut the recipe down to serve 6 and stuffed a perdue oven roaster with it. Since I scaled the recipe down, I omitted the egg, which would have been 1/2 of an egg, so my allergic baby could enjoy some as well...and he did ;) Thanks Lynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States