Old Fashioned Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I didn't like stuffing before I found this recipe, but gave it another shot for an upcoming potluck. Instead of using sliced bread, I picked up a loaf of French bread at the market. Didn't have time to dry out the bread the night before, so I sliced it up, laid the slices flat on a cookie sheet, and stuck it in the oven at about 200 degrees for an hour or 2 to dry it out. The French bread made all the difference, and gave the stuffing a fabulous, chewy but not wet texture. Friends at the potluck raved about it. I did add some chicken broth halfway through, like others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Nice flavor, but really dry. I even doubled the chicken broth. The middle section turned out fine, but the sides were left to throw away. If I make it again I won't use as much bread. I did take another reviewers suggestion and leave some fingernail-size chunks along with the crumbs. I did like that. I also added 1 Tablespoon of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
My family and I were REALLY pleased with the way this turned out--even my 4-yr-old said it tasted good. Sorry, Mom, this is better than yours (it's a good thing she doesn't use the internet, huh?) I halved this recipe, as this was just to be served as a side dish for our "Thanksgiving in July" dinner (3 adults and 2 picky kids), and we had enough left over to freeze for another meal--I hope it freezes well! Anyway, I only made a few changes (as usual): I used homemade corn (flavored) bread from the bread machine, which I cut into small cubes rather than crush w/rolling pin; I added chopped celery tops with a small, diced stalk, one finely diced med carrot and 1/2 a diced green apple, I also used 1/4 red onion and 1/4 reg onion. When sauteeing the veggies, they looked so colorful and smelled so good, that I might end up creating some type of salad that I serve just as is. I ended up having to use 1-1/2 cans of chicken broth to get the right consistency, which when cooked came out perfect-not too mushy, not too dry. As suggested by BobL, DON'T drain the veggies mix, mix the egg in w/broth before adding, and I just mixed this w/my hands, as it's the way I always saw my mom doing it, and seemed like the easiest way. Great taste and really pretty easy to make--I'll be using this for the real Thanksgiving meal this year, as my mom doesn't cook the family meal anymore and my husband says his mom never could make dressing that wasn't from a box (thank goodness she doesn't use this si
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Tastes just like Stove Top(R) stuffing! I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was a good recipe..I used a little gravy and added in to make it a little more moist when serving..but that was my fault because I had to wait for the turkey to finish and everything else was done ! WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This stuffing is really great. I used it to stuff my 15 lbs turkey and had "leftovers" for another caserole which I baked separately. The one cooked inside the turkey turned out beautifully, but the caserole one was a little bit dry. I think I will either cover it more or put more broth. The veggies need to be really soft before you mix them with the bread. I used a mix of rye and sourdough. Simply wonderful. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Loved it, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasant Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a return to "yesteryear". A recipe that my Mom used to make. However, to indulge my wife's Mother's recipe I made couple of addtions in ingredients as well as sequence steps: Within the celery volume I added cellery leaves. I added 1/2 cup of minced parsley. I shortened the drying time by first toasting all the bread to a light brown color...and then placing the slices in a large casserole dish in the microwave on a medium setting for 5 minutes. Then repeating it as needed until the bread was rigid when the microwave power was interrupted by opening the door and checking. That saved the 24hr drying time and brought it down into about 20 minutes. I did not use a rolling pin to crush the bread into total crumbs, but crushed it by hand until there were crumbs and pieces in the bowl. Pieces were never larger than the average thumbnail and there were a lot of crumbs. After placing the crushed bread in a bowl, add the dry ingredient-spices and thoroughly mix them together before adding the eggs and chicken broth. Then mix the eggs and chicken broth together before adding to the crumb-spice mixture. Then add the results of the sauted onion-celery mix without draining it. Add more water if needed at this point so the resultant stuffing is moist and clumps together, but is not a mushy mess. Four family traditions loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
GREAT RECIPE! THANKS MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I gave this four stars only because I made changes. I took advice of others and added 1 tsp. thyme, 1 tsp. more sage, 2c. more broth which I used to baste during baking and used 1/2 croutons 1/2 bread. I also added a can of mushrooms and let it sit in the fridge overnight. It came out so moist and so good people kept going back for more. One person told me it was the best stuffing he had ever had! That meant a lot because he thinks stuffing is the best thing on earth! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States