Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
EXCELLENT!! I needed to make this dairy free, so I used almond milk instead, and I prefer palm oil shortening instead of veg. shortening. I also wanted to serve this as a trifle, so I baked it in a 9x13 pan, cut cake into cubes and layered in the trifle dish with strawberries. I served the whipped cream on the side. I also really liked it topped with sour cream mixed with maple syrup, instead of whipped cream. Mmmmm. I just printed and added this to "my family's favorite recipe binder." Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindymomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written (though I did have to bake an extra 10-15 minutes as well before it was set in the middle) and this was a FANTASTIC shortcake recipe! We had guests over, and all 5 of us LOVED this recipe. Delicious (especially with some fresh made whipped cream - YUMM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Perfect shortcake base. I used butter in place of shortening and did not use the melted butter. It was a great compromise between the two standard types - biscuit vs. spongecake. This was great. Quick, easy, good texture and not too sweet. I served it with fresh berries and homemade sweetened whipped cream. Kids and adults loved it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was delicious and very easy to make. People were licking their plates. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Do not recommend this one, sorry. If you make it, I would recommend butter only - I used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening but it was still no good. It does need to bake longer than the recipe calls for as well. The texture was pretty good though. Flavor with the berries & whip: eh - bleh to me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Great recipe, very good and even better because it's so easy. We had very sweet strawberries that were locally grown so I skipped the sugar in them and it was still great. Did I mention how quick and easy this is to make? Love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Perfect texture! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved this! The shortcake was tender and soft and a little spongy, just right! Not very sweet on its own, which was good since the strawberries were sweet. :) Quick, easy, and will save you a trip to the grocery store next time you want a strawberry and shortcake, will never buy the store made shortcakes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godssoulsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
great recipe, nice old school shortcake. tasted awesome!!!! i'm not that much of a baker but this was easy and really good. i like to smash the strawberries to get lots of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was amazing !!! Everyone loved it. So easy to make and soooo very moist. I also baked it a few minutes longer -- maybe 24-25 minutes in all but I have a small oven and made 2 cakes so I don't know if that mattered. I used much less sugar in the strawberries just because I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States