Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
EXCELLENT!! I needed to make this dairy free, so I used almond milk instead, and I prefer palm oil shortening instead of veg. shortening. I also wanted to serve this as a trifle, so I baked it in a 9x13 pan, cut cake into cubes and layered in the trifle dish with strawberries. I served the whipped cream on the side. I also really liked it topped with sour cream mixed with maple syrup, instead of whipped cream. Mmmmm. I just printed and added this to "my family's favorite recipe binder." Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindymomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Perfect shortcake base. I used butter in place of shortening and did not use the melted butter. It was a great compromise between the two standard types - biscuit vs. spongecake. This was great. Quick, easy, good texture and not too sweet. I served it with fresh berries and homemade sweetened whipped cream. Kids and adults loved it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written (though I did have to bake an extra 10-15 minutes as well before it was set in the middle) and this was a FANTASTIC shortcake recipe! We had guests over, and all 5 of us LOVED this recipe. Delicious (especially with some fresh made whipped cream - YUMM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was delicious and very easy to make. People were licking their plates. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Do not recommend this one, sorry. If you make it, I would recommend butter only - I used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening but it was still no good. It does need to bake longer than the recipe calls for as well. The texture was pretty good though. Flavor with the berries & whip: eh - bleh to me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Great recipe, very good and even better because it's so easy. We had very sweet strawberries that were locally grown so I skipped the sugar in them and it was still great. Did I mention how quick and easy this is to make? Love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Perfect texture! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This shortcake was fabulous - like a slightly moist/spongy biscuit - just perfect. Was hesitant to try it because it seemed way too simple, but I will probably never use another recipe for shortcake. Made it exatly as written, as other reviewers mentioned did have to bake about 10 minutes longer. I cut the cake into 8 pie shaped wedges which I cut in half horizontally. Mashed some berries with a little truvia to make a "sauce" and then sliced the remaining berries with no sugar. I didn't use whipped cream and instead put a small dollop of plain greek yogurt on the top. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved this! The shortcake was tender and soft and a little spongy, just right! Not very sweet on its own, which was good since the strawberries were sweet. :) Quick, easy, and will save you a trip to the grocery store next time you want a strawberry and shortcake, will never buy the store made shortcakes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godssoulsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Texturally, this is exactly what I want in a shortcake. A little coarse to soak in fruit juices, and a nice rise in the pan with a golden top. For me and hubs, it lacked in the flavor department even after the fact I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It just wasn't sweet enough. With that said, this recipe is as close as I have found to being a good shortcake base. It definitely beats the store bought spongy cakes. I'll try it with butter next time and see if that makes a difference. As for the bake time, it was definitely understated in the recipe as others have noted. It required an additional 15 minutes to yield a beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States