Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was delicious and very easy to make. People were licking their plates. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written, however I had to bake this about 10 or 15 minutes longer than stated for the toothpick to come out clean. Oven temps. vary though so that was not a big deal. This recipe was very good. I chose this recipe because it has less sugar in the cake batter than others like it making it a little less sweet than most short cakes. However this was very good for my diabetic husband, as for me, I just poured more sugar on my strawberries. With the strawberries and whipped cream tastes sweet and has an old fashioned feel about it. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved this! The shortcake was tender and soft and a little spongy, just right! Not very sweet on its own, which was good since the strawberries were sweet. :) Quick, easy, and will save you a trip to the grocery store next time you want a strawberry and shortcake, will never buy the store made shortcakes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godssoulsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written (though I did have to bake an extra 10-15 minutes as well before it was set in the middle) and this was a FANTASTIC shortcake recipe! We had guests over, and all 5 of us LOVED this recipe. Delicious (especially with some fresh made whipped cream - YUMM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This shortcake was fabulous - like a slightly moist/spongy biscuit - just perfect. Was hesitant to try it because it seemed way too simple, but I will probably never use another recipe for shortcake. Made it exatly as written, as other reviewers mentioned did have to bake about 10 minutes longer. I cut the cake into 8 pie shaped wedges which I cut in half horizontally. Mashed some berries with a little truvia to make a "sauce" and then sliced the remaining berries with no sugar. I didn't use whipped cream and instead put a small dollop of plain greek yogurt on the top. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Perfect texture! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Great recipe, very good and even better because it's so easy. We had very sweet strawberries that were locally grown so I skipped the sugar in them and it was still great. Did I mention how quick and easy this is to make? Love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
EXCELLENT!! I needed to make this dairy free, so I used almond milk instead, and I prefer palm oil shortening instead of veg. shortening. I also wanted to serve this as a trifle, so I baked it in a 9x13 pan, cut cake into cubes and layered in the trifle dish with strawberries. I served the whipped cream on the side. I also really liked it topped with sour cream mixed with maple syrup, instead of whipped cream. Mmmmm. I just printed and added this to "my family's favorite recipe binder." Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindymomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I thought it was very heavy and chewy. Generally OK flavor, but not very sweet. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Perfect shortcake base. I used butter in place of shortening and did not use the melted butter. It was a great compromise between the two standard types - biscuit vs. spongecake. This was great. Quick, easy, good texture and not too sweet. I served it with fresh berries and homemade sweetened whipped cream. Kids and adults loved it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States