Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Made this last night for friends and they loved it too. I'm not much of a cook so this was easy and I already had most of the ingredients. I live in Colorado and I had to bake it an extra 10 minutes. For the strawberries I used about half a cup of sugar for 2 pounds. It tasted great without being too sugary. I paired this with the allrecipes whipped cream that uses sour cream. Very yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Made recipe as is and loved it! Perfect go-to but I feel you can easily alter it to your needs! Well done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
It was so delicious. I did run into trouble with the sauce. I cut up the strawberries and tossed it with sugar but the sugar didn't desolve properly and didn't liquify. It was just a clump of sugar and strawberries. I would recommend using less sugar, about half since I ended up scooping that clump of sugar out and throwing it away. I loved the shortcake. It was delicious and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I love this shortcake recipe. ! My boyfriend is not a dessert person, but he was very impressed by this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was super easy to make and delicious ! The cake had a good texture, not too dense. The shortcake was a little plain so next time I am going to add a little vanilla extract in it. I cooked the cake for a little longer than suggested and turned out just right. I made this cake for my boyfriend and we both went back for more! It was definitely a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I too substituted butter for shortening and it was delicious. I cut the sugar for the berries in half. I served this with homemade whipped cream. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Do not recommend this one, sorry. If you make it, I would recommend butter only - I used 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening but it was still no good. It does need to bake longer than the recipe calls for as well. The texture was pretty good though. Flavor with the berries & whip: eh - bleh to me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Dense, weighty, spongy...delicious. I will return to this recipe. I added sicilia di fiore orange oil to the batch too...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
great recipe, nice old school shortcake. tasted awesome!!!! i'm not that much of a baker but this was easy and really good. i like to smash the strawberries to get lots of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was amazing !!! Everyone loved it. So easy to make and soooo very moist. I also baked it a few minutes longer -- maybe 24-25 minutes in all but I have a small oven and made 2 cakes so I don't know if that mattered. I used much less sugar in the strawberries just because I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States