Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Texturally, this is exactly what I want in a shortcake. A little coarse to soak in fruit juices, and a nice rise in the pan with a golden top. For me and hubs, it lacked in the flavor department even after the fact I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It just wasn't sweet enough. With that said, this recipe is as close as I have found to being a good shortcake base. It definitely beats the store bought spongy cakes. I'll try it with butter next time and see if that makes a difference. As for the bake time, it was definitely understated in the recipe as others have noted. It required an additional 15 minutes to yield a beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great shortcake/shortbread nothing too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe twice now. The second time I used good old fashioned lard that I get from my butcher. I use it for my pie crusts as well. The family really liked it better with the lard. A great simple recipe to do with the grandchildren! So easy that the 3 year old can even do it! Thanks for the delicious food and love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is exactly what I was hoping for in a strawberry shortcake! It has that old-fashioned, not sweet, baking powder flavor, taste that you expect. I followed the recipe exactly, didnt need to change a thing for the cake, however for the strawberries, I used less sugar. The baking time was perfect as well. My family loved it and I know that I will turn to this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I liked the consistency of the cake but it had too much baking powder. Also I would use butter instead of vegetable shortening. It has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The shortcake turned out to be very doughy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Marie Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortescue, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hwalsh
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was my first try at home made strawberry shortcake and it turned our fabulous! My mom said it was the best shortcake she's ever had! We didn't have vegetable shortening so I used about 6 tbsp of cold unsalted butter instead. I topped it with fresh, lightly strawberries and the Easy Whipped Cream recipe from this site. I'll never buy those spongecakes again! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Something is missing from this. Other than a soft, dense texture (which I thought was good), it's really lacking in flavor--I even added vanilla to the batter. I used salted butter which is probably why I found this to be too salty. I plan on keeping this in my recipe box, but will try to tweak it so it's more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Taste was good but cooking time was way too short! First one was baked 5 min longer than recipe stated and was raw in the middle. Second attempt I used a 9" pan and baked it for more than double the time...basically until the edges just started to colour. Family loved the finished product (using the second made cake). I would make again but be certain to cook it longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States