Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe except I made it into 5 mini-pies because I like to give them away to people. It came out just great, not too runny, sweet but not too sweet. I used my own home made pie crust, and a friend told me it was the best strawberry pie he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I have never made a pie before and we have more strawberries then I know what to do with so I just had to try. I followed the recipe and it turned great. Not runny at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tynna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was my first pie, and it was excellent! I followed other advice (replaced 1/4 c of the sugar with cornstarch) and I was a little worried because the fruit was totally coated with white before the pie went into the oven. But it cooked down into the juice, and it tasted wonderful! The filling was a little juicy even with the added cornstarch but I didn't think it was a deal-breaker. Also, I used the full amount of cinnamon called for and it wasn't overpowering (I didn't even notice it). Definitely a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This pie had amazing flavor, but very soupy. It would be good in a cobbler form with a very heavy strussel topping. Very tasty, extremely tasty and would also be good as an ice cream topper. I'm glad I made a tester before the party tonight because I would have been ashamed as to how it looked, but it was still half eaten at my house because it tasted good! This recipe has great potential, but this isn't the best. I will be trying a different recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Total deliciousness. I took the best comments from other reviewers and tweaked it this way: only one cup sugar (I tasted the strawberries first! critical step!), and I left out the cinnamon entirely, and added almost half a cup flour, not just 1/3. With the sugar and flour tossed around the fresh strawberries, it made the most delicious sauce inside, and just the right texture! Another tip: to make sure the inside was totally done, I did what my mom taught me to do with apple pie. High heat, as the recipe says, for 1/2 hour, then turned it down to 350 for another 20 minutes. It really cooks the fruit down nicely, the top crust is browned but not burned, and the bottom crust is fully cooked and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Very good pie. My husband never liked cooked fruit, but he loves this! I used a little under 1 cup of sugar and added 2 T. cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Turning out a perfect fruit pie is always a gamble. Measurements in a recipe can never be precise as there are just too many variables, like juiciness or sweetness of the berries, or an individual's preference for either. Having said that, I can only speak of what worked for me. I like a thicker pie, so I used 2 qts. of strawberries, which measured out to 5-1/2 c. sliced. I mixed up 1/3 c. flour, 1 T. cornstarch, a little better than 1 c. sugar and a mere 1/4 tsp. cinnamon (didn't want the cinnamon flavor to distract). I let this sit for 15 minutes before turning out into the pie shell so the berries could release their juices. I baked the pie at 375 degrees for 25 minutes, then covered the edges of the crust with aluminum foil and baked for another 25 minutes, until the crust was golden and the juices were bubbling and thick. It wasn't until the pie was in the oven that I realized I forgot to dot the berries with butter, even though I had it sitting right out in front of me! But you know what? It wasn't even missed! This pie was so good I can't imagine how it could have been better had I remembered the butter. For those who experienced a too juicy pie, I'm thinking that either the pie wasn't baked long enough for the flour and/or cornstarch to do its work, or they cut into the pie before it was thoroughly cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I substituted 1/4 cup cornstarch instead of flour, and while it held together well, it tasted just like strawberry jam and toast. Did anyone else notice that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjeckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made a traditional pie crust and followed the recipe mostly as written. The only differences was that I added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to the filling mixture and cut the sugar mixture down a 1/3 cup because the strawberries were so sweet. Also, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for a little more complex flavor. I was a little concerned that it would be too soupy as some of the other reviewers stated. I turned out perfect!! Also, remember with a fruit pie, if you let it sit overnight or at least 4 to 6 hours after baking, the filling will firm up as it cools. I really can't say anything bad about this pie. I think it is lack of experience baking fruit pies that others have had a lot of difficulty with the pie filling. Also if you are looking for something with a more tart/sweet flavor try a strawberry rhubarb pie. Most classic recipe strawberry pies are on the sweet side. Again it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I added almost a cup of flour and 3/4 cups of sugar. This pie was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States