Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This pie was very good, my whole family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinaann7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
As a (very) novice pie maker, I found this to be so easy and so successful. I chose to do the following: used 3 tbsp cornstarch, kept the cinnamon the same, used approximately 5 1/2 cups of organic frozen strawberries. I got these suggestions from other raters and everything worked really well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This pie was a huge hit at the family Halloween party. You don't often see a baked strawberry pie without rhubarb or raspberry or something mixed in, but it really doesn't need it, and everybody loved it. Like most other people, I added 2 tbsp. cornstarch to the dry ingredients, and this kept the filling nice and thick instead of soupy, but not too jammy. Following another reviewer's advice, I baked the pie at 425 for 30 minutes, then turned the heat down to 350 to bake the last 20 minutes. Both crust and berries were perfectly cooked. I also brushed the top of the crust with beaten egg white and sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar. This made it crisp and golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctizz1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Pie turned out perfect! I did modify like others and added 3 tbls cornstarch, decreased the sugar to 3/4C and added some vanilla extract. I also brushed the top crust with half and half. I baked the pie at 425 for the first 30 mins and then decreased the temp to 350 for another 20 mins. The crust was perfectly browned and not burnt at all! We waited until the pie was completely cooled to eat and it turned out fantabulous! Not too juicy at all! Will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is an excellent, yet simple, pie recipe. The thickening agent can be substituted with the agent of your choice, such as flour, or water + cornstarch, or tapioca. The cinnamon is the secret ingredient. To avoid having a "soupy" pie, it is imperative that you let the pie sit several hours (24 ideally). This allows to the pie to set and be ready for service. Enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I've been looking for a recipe like this for years and now I've found it. This is possibly the best fruit pie I have ever eaten. I did follow the advice of some the reviewers and added a little extra flour. I also cut back on the sugar because my family tends to prefer things less sweet. My pie turned out great and I am by far NO expert pie maker. P.S. I used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matthew
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This pie is AMAZING! I will say that I should have read the other reviews before as the cornstarch is a necessary addition, without it the pie is runny. I also made mine with a homemade crust vs store bought. I think its better that way but, 6 1 half dozen the other the pie will blow your mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
DELISH! I only used 1 cup of sugar and 3 tablespoons of corn starch, like some people suggested, and O-M-G! Perfect with vanilla ice cream and a tall glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraguajardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have never made a strawberry pie before and I wanted a pie with a top and bottom crust which is hard to find. This recipe is the best! The only thing I changed was I added 3 TBSP of cornstarch like others suggested. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did was right after it came out of the oven was I put it directly in the fridge to cool. When I tried a piece a couple hours later, it was not runny at all - it stayed together and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States