Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wish I had read the reviews 1st. I have "Strawberry Soup with Crispy Noodles". We picked organic heirloom strawberries from our own strawberry patch & used my favorite pie crust. The crust was GBD. The filling was a little too sweet (not much). When I cut/broke open that wonderful top crust, an ocean of watery strawberry "sauce" came flowing out (along with the strawberries). It was left to cool for over 2 hours, it has set for 3 more hours, still soup. I'm going to the store & buy Ice Cream. Gonna serve it with my "soup" and tell the family It's a new dish,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Delicious! I only sprinkled a bit of cinnamon because I didn't want too much of that flavor. It smelled fantastic while baking, and tasted even better! Thanks for sharing this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
My pie was VERY runny and difficult to slice due to my decision to cut the strawberries in half (the really large ones in quarters), and use only 1/4 cup of cornstarch to thicken the mixture, as suggested by a few reviewers here. It tasted good, but was quite messy. Next time, I will try keeping the strawberries whole and perhaps using tapioca flour and allowing the mixture to stand for 15 minutes before proceeding with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This pie was easy and delicous!! I am definetly going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I've never made pie before, and in the UK fruit pies are not commonplace, so I really wanted to try something new like this. I had no idea what to expect, but in the end it was so delicious. It works really well with some whipped up cream. The only adjustment I made is I latticed the pastry on top. The pie certainly is very runny but I did not find it much of a problem, in fact it was just perfect for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eiesha20welder
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I had some fresh strawberries to use and so I looked for a pie recipe. I dont like the gelatin type open faced pies. However, let me tell you this 2 crust traditional recipe is on point! I scaled down to 1 cup of sugar from reading other's advice, but the second time I took it down even more to 1/2 a cup. I think since my berries were already ripe and fresh, the original amount of sugar could be adjusted. maybe frozen strawberries need more. After baking it on 425 for 25 min, I turned it down to 350 for the last 15 min. Another reviewer mentioned this helps the liquid to be thicker. The juice inside was perfect so I will continue to do it like this as well. this is SO simple, and you will look like a master chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is fantastic ! Never had a strawberry pie, wanted something other than the usual strawberry shortcake. This recipe is extremely easy what a pleasure. Used a Jiffy Pie Crust IMO they're the best. Was tempted to slice the strawberries but resisted good thing the results were great. Not fond of anything too sweet so I cut down on the sugar, love a buttery taste increased the butter, no cholesterol issues here. We now have a new pie to add to our favorites. Pie finished baking 2 hours prior to writing this only 2 slices left for dessert tonight if they last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Outstanding! I admit, I took out a tablespoon or two of the sugar as my berries were nice and sweet and I'm not a fan of too-sweet anything. I also added a dash of nutmeg and about 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom and a pinch of allspice :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
So so good! My strawberries were so-so sweet, so I used 3/4 C white sugar and that was perfect. For thickener, I used appx 3 tsp cornstarch and 3 T all purpose flour. After baking and cooling, I put it in the fridge and warmed to room temperature to serve - it held together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was a nice basic pie recipe. I used corn starch to thicken instead of flour (personal preference) and omitted the butter. My berries were already a little sweet, so I only used 1 cup of sugar. Finally, I added a lattice top. This pie came out beautiful (see added photo) and tastes wonderful. It was just what I was in the mood for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States