Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved this recipe, though I followed the advice of others, used only 1 cup of sugar and added 1/4th cup of corn starch. I cooked it exactly 35 minutes. It was delicious, all my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
A really great recipe. Turned out perfectly. I added a littlle cornflour as well to make sure the juice wasn't too runny. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this pie on 3 different occasions. Each time the flavor is delicious, everyone loves it! But the only problem is the pie turns to liquid. It's more like strawberry soup than pie. I can't seem to figure out how to thicken up the sauce. Any tips? I use exactly what the recipe calls for.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious! I added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. Other than that, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
The pie is quite rich in flavor and very sweet but also quite good and easy! You can use frozen strawberries for it, but do not get the strawberries in syrup, or at least drain about half the syrup out if you do... I made that mistake the first time I ended up with Strawberry Pie soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
very sweet-I added some apples-very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Doesn't get much easier than this. It was juicy and delicious. If you want it set up more...eat it the next day. I made it exactly as the recipe called for minus the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gigner
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This pie turned out pretty well. I did follow the advice of others and only put in 3/4 cups of sugar after tasting the strawberries, and also putting in 1/2 cup flour instead for thicker juice. There was another person who suggested baking it on high heat (425) for the first 1/2 hour, then lowering the heat to 350 for another 20 minutes, I did follow that. It turned out really well! I must also add I left out the cinnamon, and totally forgot about the butter until it was in the oven. Once it cooled, and it was cut up for dessert there really wasn't any juice spilling out anywhere, it had all been congealed. Everyone loved it! And on the upside, it also made the house smell like warm strawberry jam. I'll definitely be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Disappointed. Didn´t like the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I just finished baking this delicious Strawberry pie and it turned out awesome. Prepared it just like the recipe stated, no changes whatsoever. Will be sure to retain this recipe so I can make it when strawberries are plentiful. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States