Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by imcooking88
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
this was so yummy! i substituted 1/3 cup of flour for 1/3 cup of cornstarch, i used only a pinch of cinnamon and i squeezed some fresh lemon juice into it. i also made one with splenda because my grandpa has diabetes. they were both so good and set perfectly! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcooking88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
There are so many reviews on this pie, and unfortunately there ae a few that are not praises. This pie, as with anything that a good cook knows, must have a little personal tweek if you are that kind of a cook, but I have been not only professionally trained, but I am a very good cook and I will tell you this basic recipe is unbelievably good and shockingly easy and above all it will bring you praise. I followed the recipe--I was busy and lazy, but it still brought me rave reviews. Sweetness is personal.....think about your berries and taste them, then decide. Think about other pies you have made and what thickener do you like the best. If it is tapioca, use it in the proportions you are used too, if it is flour use the flour, but if you want to make sure a pie is thick then add a tad more. If you make the pie and you had problems then you must realize it may not be the recipes fault, but your own for now thinking things out. This pie is excellent as it stands....the taste is sweet, it is not too thick of a mixture around the berries when finished and couple those things with a very good crust and people will shout praise. Try the milk on the crust route sprinkled with sugar and it will put the Sunday clothes on the pie.....thicken with tapioca if you want a clearer thicker, more stable pie.......and if you want that great taste and sight is secondary to taste then you are find to head on and serve your family the pie as it is written. Remember there are few simple p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank
Home Town: Bennett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Try mixing the filling and zapping it in the microwave before filling the pie crusts. Some berries are juicier than others, so you can see if you need to thicken it more before you bake it. If you're not happy with this, buy the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Oh wow, what a pie! This was fantastic! I could have eaten the entire pie in one sitting! I used a mix of strawberries and blueberries, so I had about 4 1/2 cups of fruit. I personaly could have used another cup of fruit, so I'll add more next time. I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup of cornstarch so the middle thickened up nicely. I also cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp. Truly a delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by MarieM
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
A little runny when I took it out of the oven, but still turned out fantastic. Reduced sugar to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup corn starch. The taste was exceptional! This pie did firm up, especially the next day. This will be a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
As listed by another user I added cornstarch to my mixture, and I loved it. I must have made 4 of these pies, I bought a huge quantity of strawberries for next to nothing and had to use them up, so my neighbors got pies too, and they loved it too! Now everyone loves my pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmastros

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Fantastic recipe, though I did make a few changes: I added 1/4 cup of Tapioca, and 1/2 tsp of Corn Starch to thicken. Brushed the top crust with egg and sprinkled with some sugar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I agree that you need to modify this recipe to make it work, but with some changes it is a delicious pie. Per several suggestions here, I decreased the cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon and added 1/4 C cornstarch. Also, depending on the sweetness of the strawberries, you might want to decrease the sugar to 3/4 or 1 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I don't know why everyone hasn't given this pie a 5- after following the suggestions (adding 1 tbsp of cornstarch and only 3/4 c sugar), the pie turned out fantastic. It wasn't too sweet or runny- my husband and I loved it and I'm sure to make it a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very easy and very good. However, I cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States