Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I think I might have done something wrong (new baker). The filling and bottom crust were great but the Strawberries may not have been enough as my crust turned out uneven. I will make this pie again for sure once I figure out the crust problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
delicious! but I did add some fresh rhubarb! YUM! Also, I learned a trick from an old Coast Guard Officer...Beat an egg (yes, brush the top with it and sprinkle with sugar for a beautiful shiny golden crust) brush it on the bottom of the bottom crust. This makes it so it is not soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kelleher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Sweet and tasty pie! I used partially thawed frozen strawberries. I ended up needing about 5 cups of berries. I also used only 1 cup of sugar and added 2 Tbs corn starch as recommended by other reviewers. I probably could use slightly less sugar next time, but it was not overly sweet with 1 cup. The pie still had a lot of juice in it, but it was not more than I experience with any other berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I thought it was delicious. I followed the recipe but followed some advise from Jenn's comment on June 12. We certainly enjoyed and I will make again. Loved it! Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This pie is just too runny. I think it has great potential, just with different thickening agents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It was way too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My first double crusted baked strawberry pie and it was absolutely delicious. I reduced sugar to 3/4 cup and used tapioca instead of flour. Forgot to add butter, didn't miss it at all. Made with Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust from this site. Can't wait for dessert tonight. Hubby and I both declared it one of my best pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Delicious. I used frozen strawberries that thawed with a ton of liquid so I followed the advice of someone else and added 3 tbsps of corn starch to thicken. I added 1 cup of sugar and that was perfectly sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmconl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I eliminated the cinnamon and did not put all the flour mixture into the pie. I'm glad I didn't. The pie consistency was spot on. I think the taste was good. With this pie, the crust choice is crucial. I use Ruth's grandmas pie crust (simple and delish with butter flavored baking stick). As far as it goes a cobbler is much easier with similar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Fantastic! I would absolutely not change a thing. I have never used cinnamon in a berry pie recipe. I was so glad I did! Thank you for sharing. My husband, 3 sons and I had a fantastic dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States