Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by daniel
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I followed recipe exactly but it was way too runny, tasted pretty good but wouldn't serve to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
My family loved this pie! I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. I also used 5 cups of berries. I also used the suggestion of half and half on top of the crust sprinkled with sugar. Created a pie with a nice golden brown appearance. I also covered the edges of the pie with aluminum foil for -5 minutes of the baking time so my edges didn't get too dark. Am making this pie again per my family's request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Wonderful recipe, but WAY too much sugar. I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup, and it was perfect. I also substituted a whole wheat crust, and used whole wheat flour in the pie itself. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie Donalds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I put 5.5-6 cups of sliced strawberries and added extra sugar, flour, and cinnamon to compensate for it (proportionate) Added 4 tablespoons of corn starch. I think next time I'll cut the sugar down though and cinnamon. Found the cinnamon to be a bit strong. Also baked it for 10 min at 425 then down to 350 for another hour till the crust was browned. Was baked perfectly in that time and the next day was even more thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made this pie yesterday and it was one of the best I've ever made. As some have said here, I adjusted the recipe a bit and applied some of the tips here as well. Had more than enough fresh strawberries as I had gone to a strawberry patch the day before. They were on the tart side, so the amount of sugar called for was fine. Plus, a scoop of vanilla ice cream was wonderful along side it as the berries were still not overly sweet, I added 1/4 t salt, decreased the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. I sliced the berries ( maybe that was a given, but the recipe didn't state) and added 1 T cornstarch to the flour. Baked at 400 for 25 minutes and reduced to 325 for another 20 minutes. Pie held together beautifully (after cooling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquelyn Gipson
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I tried before I knew it was here. If you love strawberries you want this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquelyn Gipson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This pie was great! I would recommend it to anybody. I did turn down the temperature a little bit and increase the time, I also let my pie sit overnight before I cut into it. It came out delicious and had a perfect texture. I also submitted a photo of my pie... Feel free to take a look! It was wonderful. Great recipe, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious. I made this with some Pillsbury Pie Dough I had in the fridge and had exactly 4 cups of frozen strawberries in the freezer that I thawed out from my Grandma's garden. It turned out amazing and didn't have to buy one ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
As with many fruit pies, just add a little instant tapioca mix to the filling. Be sure to mix well and let it cool for some time before serving. Oh, and I don't use the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I think I might have done something wrong (new baker). The filling and bottom crust were great but the Strawberries may not have been enough as my crust turned out uneven. I will make this pie again for sure once I figure out the crust problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States