Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This pie is just too runny. I think it has great potential, just with different thickening agents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It was way too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My first double crusted baked strawberry pie and it was absolutely delicious. I reduced sugar to 3/4 cup and used tapioca instead of flour. Forgot to add butter, didn't miss it at all. Made with Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust from this site. Can't wait for dessert tonight. Hubby and I both declared it one of my best pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Delicious. I used frozen strawberries that thawed with a ton of liquid so I followed the advice of someone else and added 3 tbsps of corn starch to thicken. I added 1 cup of sugar and that was perfectly sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmconl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I eliminated the cinnamon and did not put all the flour mixture into the pie. I'm glad I didn't. The pie consistency was spot on. I think the taste was good. With this pie, the crust choice is crucial. I use Ruth's grandmas pie crust (simple and delish with butter flavored baking stick). As far as it goes a cobbler is much easier with similar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Fantastic! I would absolutely not change a thing. I have never used cinnamon in a berry pie recipe. I was so glad I did! Thank you for sharing. My husband, 3 sons and I had a fantastic dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I give this recipe 4 stars for one reason. After reading reviews, I just couldn't follow the recipe as written. I believe this recipe is excellent though! Like others, I added approx 1 tbsp cornstarch so that it'd help thicken the sauce. I used about 1 C sugar since my strawberries were pretty sweet and about a 1/3rd C flour, then just sprinkled in cinnamon (I'm not a huge cinnamon fan). Baking time was followed as stated, but for someone who hasn't made fruit pies before, one big tip is to put it in the fridge to chill. That is what actually makes the sauce set so it isnt runny. When I let it chill onthe counter for a couple hours it was still warm and very runny. The next morning, you can slice it amd it holds its shape so well! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo'L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I tied making this Recipe before but it was a little runny so I added 1/4 cup of flour to help it not run and added 1 full teaspoon of cinnamon . Turned out perfect and it was the best pie I made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Absolutely Wonderful! My husband was dancing in his seat at the dinner table. This is our third strawberry pie from Allrecipes and definitely our favorite! My juices did not gel well either so I completely covered it in foil and baked an additional 20 minutes. Next time, I will turn the heat down to 375* and bake for 60-75 minutes. I believe that would solve the thin juice problem, I think it is just not baking high enough long enough to fully gel. To use up the last of my strawberries, I had about 6 cups sliced. I also used Sure Gel instead of flour, 1/2 cup to accommodate the added berries. Instead of all cinnamon I used a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Still used the same amount of sugar. Served a la mode of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dew McClurkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved this recipe, though I followed the advice of others, used only 1 cup of sugar and added 1/4th cup of corn starch. I cooked it exactly 35 minutes. It was delicious, all my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States