Old Fashioned Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made this pie yesterday and it was one of the best I've ever made. As some have said here, I adjusted the recipe a bit and applied some of the tips here as well. Had more than enough fresh strawberries as I had gone to a strawberry patch the day before. They were on the tart side, so the amount of sugar called for was fine. Plus, a scoop of vanilla ice cream was wonderful along side it as the berries were still not overly sweet, I added 1/4 t salt, decreased the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. I sliced the berries ( maybe that was a given, but the recipe didn't state) and added 1 T cornstarch to the flour. Baked at 400 for 25 minutes and reduced to 325 for another 20 minutes. Pie held together beautifully (after cooling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquelyn Gipson
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I tried before I knew it was here. If you love strawberries you want this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquelyn Gipson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This pie was great! I would recommend it to anybody. I did turn down the temperature a little bit and increase the time, I also let my pie sit overnight before I cut into it. It came out delicious and had a perfect texture. I also submitted a photo of my pie... Feel free to take a look! It was wonderful. Great recipe, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious. I made this with some Pillsbury Pie Dough I had in the fridge and had exactly 4 cups of frozen strawberries in the freezer that I thawed out from my Grandma's garden. It turned out amazing and didn't have to buy one ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
As with many fruit pies, just add a little instant tapioca mix to the filling. Be sure to mix well and let it cool for some time before serving. Oh, and I don't use the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I think I might have done something wrong (new baker). The filling and bottom crust were great but the Strawberries may not have been enough as my crust turned out uneven. I will make this pie again for sure once I figure out the crust problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
delicious! but I did add some fresh rhubarb! YUM! Also, I learned a trick from an old Coast Guard Officer...Beat an egg (yes, brush the top with it and sprinkle with sugar for a beautiful shiny golden crust) brush it on the bottom of the bottom crust. This makes it so it is not soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kelleher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Sweet and tasty pie! I used partially thawed frozen strawberries. I ended up needing about 5 cups of berries. I also used only 1 cup of sugar and added 2 Tbs corn starch as recommended by other reviewers. I probably could use slightly less sugar next time, but it was not overly sweet with 1 cup. The pie still had a lot of juice in it, but it was not more than I experience with any other berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I thought it was delicious. I followed the recipe but followed some advise from Jenn's comment on June 12. We certainly enjoyed and I will make again. Loved it! Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This pie is just too runny. I think it has great potential, just with different thickening agents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States