Old Fashioned Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RWC4520
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I'll use more yeast next time. When I shaped it into a loaf, it spread outward rather than rising upward very much, so I ended up with a rather flat, but very tasty stollen. I added 1/2 tsp cardamom, and will probably use just a bit more next time. When I brushed on the egg wash before baking, I sprinkled with a little sanding sugar. I might try the powdered sugar glaze, but I can't stand a stollen covered with a layer of powdered sugar. It hides the subtle flavors of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I couldn't believe I was actually making Stollen and it turned out AMAZING! Even my German boyfriend LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is sooo good! I added about a 1/4 cup of cranberries to it along with the raisins and it added a splash of color and sweetness to the dough. also, I baked a thick rope of marzipan inside! This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I attempted this before the holidays for my German colleagues. From their responses, it was quite good but not the typical Stollen. I am thinking they were expecting something like the Weihnachten Stollen. Good stuff with a little butter or even honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
amazing everyone enjoyed this. I used a cup of mixed dried fruit instead of raisins I think it had pears, apples and plums in it. was very pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe! I think I did like another reveiwer and added the yeast too soon/while the milk was still hot. We will definately be making this again. Thankyou for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
The taste was very good, however, since it had only 1 envelope for over 5 cups of flour it did not raise much. Rule of thumb is 1 envelope for 3 cups of flour. I added cardamom 1/2 tsp. The lemon zest gave it that special taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Wonderful stollen, just like my Germany grandma used to make...just the right amount of subtle flavors. It makes a HUGE loaf...next time I will make two smaller loaves rather than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My husband's parents are immigrants from Germany. They have a tradition of making Stollen and delivering it to all the neighbors on Christmas Eve. My husband always wants to do the same. My mother-in-law gave me the recipe, but without any instructions! This recipe was very similar to hers, so I just followed these instructions and it turned out great! We coated it with some powdered sugar glaze with almond extract. This added just the right taste to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
A blah recipe. The stollen is bland in flavor. Texture and size is good however. I made 2 stollen recipes - this one and another one which has nutmeg, allspice and cinnamon. My family (hubby, 19, 18 and 19 year old boys) preferred the 2nd one. I will add that recipe after Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States