Old Fashioned Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for. As a kid we used a box mix and now that I make the effort to scratch bake I did not think I could replicate the past. We omitted nuts and raisins. Used apple juice to make up for the omitted raisin juice. Other changes were using 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening, 1 tsp baking soda and a pinch of salt. Turned batter into cupcakes. The batter rose fine and made really beautiful shaped cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WetzelHillman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jamul, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Just used this recipe as a tier for my sister's wedding. It was such a big hit that some people didn't get to try so I have to make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Cake didn't rise and was done in only 13 min, otherwise had a good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The cake was dry and very flat. The flavor was good but wouldn't recommend or make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Flavor is excellent. I left out the rasins as I am not a rasin fan. Used Pecans instead of walnuts. Due to other reviews about the rising issue I added 1/2 tsp Baking Powder. My rose fine. I cooked in a Bundt pan for 40 mins at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I was disappointed. My cake didn't rise, only 1 inch high. I used Crisco Butter Shortening and it had a greasy taste. Although with the cream cheese icing it we were ab;e tp eat it. I would not fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
My cake didn't rise and was done in half of the time. I will try it again. But tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloversville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
Was quite nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States