Old-Fashioned Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
It is a very good cookie to cut out and quick to bake. but i did find out something you kneed to sift the flour then measure it my dough was stick and i didn't have enough flour in the mixture. Other than that it is a good cookie and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This is one of the first cookies I made when I started baking as a young girl. It has been a tradition for Christmas every year. I have now passed it on to my daughter. I add a tsp of Nutmeg for an little added touch. My all time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
My family and friends love this cookie! It is a constant favorite and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Quick and easy to make. Nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fritch, Texas, USA
Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I think I'm going to experiment with this recipe a little and then maybe it could be better. The cookies were very soft and I liked the taste but they came out almost an inch thick. I like cookies that are thinner than that so I think I'll play around with the amount of baking powder/soda in this recipe. They were almost like little cakes rather than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
DELICIOUS!! I RAN OUTTA SOUR CREAM SO I USED 1/2 CUP OF PLAIN YOGURT AND 1/2 CUP SOUR CREAM.. I ALSO SPRINKLED THEM WITH CIN/SUGAR BEFORE BAKING!! YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Zeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
When I was a kid my Mom made wonderful sour cream cookies (as we called them) by rolling them and cutting them out (and the dough was so good to steal and eat when her back was turned). So I had a hard time believing you could make these as a drop cookie! I did and they were wonderful! They were fluffy, delicious and looked like Mom's and the dough was even good to eat (Disclaimer: It has raw eggs so don't try this at home kids). They did get a little clammy when stored but I think I might have used too much sour cream. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! It will surely be used during the holidays & when I have a hankering fr it (did I say hankering?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I have made this cookie twice now. Both times it has come out like a cake instead of a cookie. I followed the recipe very closely. I don't think it tastes like a sugar cookie at all. The dough was great tasting but I think I'm going to make it into a cake and frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee McGee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These are wonderful! I made some variations to make them healthy. I used unbleached flour and stevia instead of sugar (1 tsp. of stevia did the trick), and also used maple yogurt instead of sour cream since I was out of sour cream. I then made frosting with equal parts of cream cheese and butter, mixed with stevia and honey to taste. They turned out beautifully, and it's nice to have a soft, tasty cookie with no sugar during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is not a 4 star recipe. My cookies came out of the oven very thick, and had the texture and taste of pancakes. They also did not round out very well and did not look at all apealling. Now I am grumpy because I made these to send to a friend as a gift, and i will have to start again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States