Old-Fashioned Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
It is a very good cookie to cut out and quick to bake. but i did find out something you kneed to sift the flour then measure it my dough was stick and i didn't have enough flour in the mixture. Other than that it is a good cookie and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Wonderful recipe! My grandma made a similar recipe with buttermilk. This one is much more moist and tender. I used a cookie scoop so they took less time to cook. Around 6 minutes. Also just used sanding sugars instead of cinnamon and sugar. Very good and yes cakelike. when I was a kid we called these type of cookies sugar cakes! Very yummy indeed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This is one of the first cookies I made when I started baking as a young girl. It has been a tradition for Christmas every year. I have now passed it on to my daughter. I add a tsp of Nutmeg for an little added touch. My all time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
So happy to have found this recipe! My mom used to make these for me when I was a kid. We called them Sour Cream Softies. The recipe appeared back in 1970 in an issue of Family Circle. The cinnamon-sugar is really what makes the cookie here. As other reviewers have said, this cookie is soft and "cake-like" but that's why they're called SOFT sugar cookies. The dough is very sticky, but we always just kept in the refrigerator, and then formed it into balls and placed them on the cookie sheet... worked like a charm! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. It brought back so many happy memories of baking with my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was very good. Not a crispy or chewy sugar cookie. It was dense and soft- exactly what the title states. I substituted 1 CUP plain yogurt for the sourcream and the recipe turned out fine. These cookies would make a perfect combination with mocha frosting to make a "whoopie pie" type sandwich cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Really great Taste.... I used frosting instead of the cin.and sugar. loved the Cookies...they get really puffy but still good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I have made this cookie twice now. Both times it has come out like a cake instead of a cookie. I followed the recipe very closely. I don't think it tastes like a sugar cookie at all. The dough was great tasting but I think I'm going to make it into a cake and frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee McGee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This is a great pancake recipe, but I was looking for a sugar cookie recipe. Oh well. Back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These are very cakey cookies. I added 1/2 t of almond extract and 1/2 t of vanilla and I'm glad I did because they would've been bland without it. I was looking for a cookie recipe to use up some sour cream which is why I made these but I doubt that I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I love these cookies, you can vary them and add cocoa, molasses, or even cinn/sugar and make snickerdoodles. My children love them. Not all cookies have to be chewy/firm or crunchy to be cookies. Sometimes they can be cakey. It's good to be different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States