Old-Fashioned Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Fantastic! These cookies were exactly what I was looking for. My kids absolutely loved them (they call them "Cake-Cookies". Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I got this receipe many, many years ago from my husband's aunt (kind of a "welcome to the family"!), only she adds chocolate chips to hers. I've never had them without chips, but I bet this helps make them taste a little less like a pancake and more like a cookie. These are absolutely my husband and daughter's favorite cookie- I know I'll earn big points when I pull this recipe out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
So happy to have found this recipe! My mom used to make these for me when I was a kid. We called them Sour Cream Softies. The recipe appeared back in 1970 in an issue of Family Circle. The cinnamon-sugar is really what makes the cookie here. As other reviewers have said, this cookie is soft and "cake-like" but that's why they're called SOFT sugar cookies. The dough is very sticky, but we always just kept in the refrigerator, and then formed it into balls and placed them on the cookie sheet... worked like a charm! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. It brought back so many happy memories of baking with my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was very good. Not a crispy or chewy sugar cookie. It was dense and soft- exactly what the title states. I substituted 1 CUP plain yogurt for the sourcream and the recipe turned out fine. These cookies would make a perfect combination with mocha frosting to make a "whoopie pie" type sandwich cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paniusia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Wonderful recipe! My grandma made a similar recipe with buttermilk. This one is much more moist and tender. I used a cookie scoop so they took less time to cook. Around 6 minutes. Also just used sanding sugars instead of cinnamon and sugar. Very good and yes cakelike. when I was a kid we called these type of cookies sugar cakes! Very yummy indeed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I followed the directions down to the t,using a professional kitchen aid mixer.I was expecting a soft sugar cookie, instead what I got was a sugary pancake, a good pancake but frosting a pancake not what I planned on doing with my God son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I make these cookies every year for the Holidays and a few times through out the year. Instead of cinnamon and sugar on top I sprinkle with colored sugar for a holiday look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Nyx Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I liked these cookies, they puffed up a lot and I used the cinnamon sugar on them to sweeten them up. I realized I should have taken a picture but my friends and family ate them all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I would never make these again. I have never had to throw away cookie batter before, but the batter was not cookie dough consistency. It was like pancake batter. If you added more flour, it just tasted like dough, not cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States