Old-Fashioned Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This is one of the first cookies I made when I started baking as a young girl. It has been a tradition for Christmas every year. I have now passed it on to my daughter. I add a tsp of Nutmeg for an little added touch. My all time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
My family and friends love this cookie! It is a constant favorite and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I make these cookies every year for the Holidays and a few times through out the year. Instead of cinnamon and sugar on top I sprinkle with colored sugar for a holiday look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Nyx Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These are wonderful! I made some variations to make them healthy. I used unbleached flour and stevia instead of sugar (1 tsp. of stevia did the trick), and also used maple yogurt instead of sour cream since I was out of sour cream. I then made frosting with equal parts of cream cheese and butter, mixed with stevia and honey to taste. They turned out beautifully, and it's nice to have a soft, tasty cookie with no sugar during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I made this recipe for my sorority girls but left off the cinnamon sugar, my girls deccorated those cookies for "dead" week they loved them so much I had to give out recipes. They LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I have been looking for a soft sugar cookie that tastes like my grandmother's and this is it!! thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is an incredible cookie. You really need to add the cinnamon and sugar to the top, it gives it the flavor that it needs. My kids ate every single one of them! Since I am not good with rolled sugar cookies, this one was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Very Good Cookie. They bake up big and soft. I didn't coat with the cinnamon-sugar as suggested, and I'm glad I didn't - these cookies are sweet enough with out them. Also - I used the Splenda Baking Blend in place of the sugar (using 3/4 cup of the Splenda Baking Blend). This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newark, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I bake for our city's community theatre cvoncession and I am always looking for a cookie that does not have ch9ocolate or nuts in it. I found it in this wonderful cookie! My husband raved...and also suggested instead of cinnamon sugar, use cocoa sugar. I will try that especially for him. Thank you very much f0r my new "find"! Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Really great Taste.... I used frosting instead of the cin.and sugar. loved the Cookies...they get really puffy but still good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States