Old-Fashioned Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I have been looking for a soft sugar cookie that tastes like my grandmother's and this is it!! thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I made this recipe for my sorority girls but left off the cinnamon sugar, my girls deccorated those cookies for "dead" week they loved them so much I had to give out recipes. They LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
the texture was nice and light, however is was lacking in flavor. i won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is not a 4 star recipe. My cookies came out of the oven very thick, and had the texture and taste of pancakes. They also did not round out very well and did not look at all apealling. Now I am grumpy because I made these to send to a friend as a gift, and i will have to start again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These are wonderful! I made some variations to make them healthy. I used unbleached flour and stevia instead of sugar (1 tsp. of stevia did the trick), and also used maple yogurt instead of sour cream since I was out of sour cream. I then made frosting with equal parts of cream cheese and butter, mixed with stevia and honey to taste. They turned out beautifully, and it's nice to have a soft, tasty cookie with no sugar during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I have made this cookie twice now. Both times it has come out like a cake instead of a cookie. I followed the recipe very closely. I don't think it tastes like a sugar cookie at all. The dough was great tasting but I think I'm going to make it into a cake and frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee McGee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
When I was a kid my Mom made wonderful sour cream cookies (as we called them) by rolling them and cutting them out (and the dough was so good to steal and eat when her back was turned). So I had a hard time believing you could make these as a drop cookie! I did and they were wonderful! They were fluffy, delicious and looked like Mom's and the dough was even good to eat (Disclaimer: It has raw eggs so don't try this at home kids). They did get a little clammy when stored but I think I might have used too much sour cream. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! It will surely be used during the holidays & when I have a hankering fr it (did I say hankering?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
DELICIOUS!! I RAN OUTTA SOUR CREAM SO I USED 1/2 CUP OF PLAIN YOGURT AND 1/2 CUP SOUR CREAM.. I ALSO SPRINKLED THEM WITH CIN/SUGAR BEFORE BAKING!! YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Zeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I think I'm going to experiment with this recipe a little and then maybe it could be better. The cookies were very soft and I liked the taste but they came out almost an inch thick. I like cookies that are thinner than that so I think I'll play around with the amount of baking powder/soda in this recipe. They were almost like little cakes rather than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Quick and easy to make. Nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fritch, Texas, USA
Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States