Old-Fashioned Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I love these cookies, you can vary them and add cocoa, molasses, or even cinn/sugar and make snickerdoodles. My children love them. Not all cookies have to be chewy/firm or crunchy to be cookies. Sometimes they can be cakey. It's good to be different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
very good. Mine turned out round and puffy, but still dense like a cookie. Would be really good with a cream cheese frosting. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Not a huge fan of this cookie but that may be my personal bias. It was really soft but not in a good way. I was expecting a cakey cookie, not crunchy but not like this. It was almost like eating a cookie inmitating to be cake...I think it may have been the sour cream and I did use reduced fat so that may have had something to do with it. I will not make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Not for me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Sorry, but definitely not a keeper recipe. I would classify this cookie as a "sinker". Just made these last night because I'm trying to find a recipe that is similar to my Grandmother's sugar cookies. Was sadly mistaken. These cookies are more like biscuits than cookies - bland and dense. In working with the dough, it was extremely sticky while trying to spoon onto cookie sheets even though I had refrigerated it for a few hours. Secondly, you absolutely MUST spray the cookie pans or else be prepared to scrub pans. After the first bland batch, I increased the amount of cinnamon/sugar toping by 3X's. That at least helped to sweeten it up a bit. Was surprised at how bland these cookies taste once baked since the raw dough was decent to taste. If you do try to bake these, you may want to add another layer of flavor like almond or maple. Back to looking for a sugar cookie recipe that is closer to the awesome flavor of my Grandma's. Am happy to accept recipe suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I followed the recipe precisely and found the dough extremely sticky and difficult to work with. Next time, I'll follow the suggestion to refrigerate and then roll into a ball. Basic cookie, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is my husband's favorite cookie! To all the bad reviews that stated the cookies were terrible and not round...read the title and see that it says SOFT! These cookies are a soft cookie and yes kinda like a sweet soft biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Definitely a keeper!! This is a great, simple cookie. It is cakey, which I like I used margarine, didn't have butter, and they still worked!! I think I might try and ice some next time. Oh, definitely sift the dry ingredients together. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Reminds me of snickerdoodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was my mother's recipe that she said was the closest she could come to her mother's "tea cake" recipe. My family loves these tea cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States