Old Fashioned Sicilian Succo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I first made and reviewed this in January 2007, and I have made many, many times since. It is our absolute favorite meatball and sauce recipe. However...I do not like this made with tomato sauce, and I also bake my meatballs for a few minutes to brown rather than fry. I use crushed or ground tomatoes, and I always add chopped onion. Sometimes I add chopped roasted red peppers or carrots for a little sweetness if my tomatoes are particuarly acidic. Leftover sauce, makes a great pizza sauce. We used it on the Brick-oven pizza from this site (another favorite of ours), and it's wonderful--try adding thin slices of the meatballs to the pizza before popping in the oven--fabulous! We sometimes double the meatball recipe and make meatball sandwiches. It's also fantastic in lasagna. We love this sauce and the meatballs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I really love these meatballs, although I don't make them exactly as the recipe says. Since I'm only cooking for two, I only use 1 lb of ground beef and omit the pork all together. I use 1/3 cup each of bread crumbs/parmesan cheese. This makes plenty for 2. I follow the recipe for the tomato sauce exactly, and it always comes out great. I've made this recipe many times. I've served it over pasta, I've tweaked the recipe slightly to make it a "sweet and sour" meatball dish, and I've also made meatball subs out of it (french loaf cut in half with the middle scooped out, toasted under the broiler until just a little "crunchy", then slice the meatballs in half and lay on the bread, spoon a little sauce over all, add mozzarella cheese on top, stick back under the broiler until melted and viola!). Really versatile, tasty recipe that I will continue to use. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I used this recipe for the meatballs only and made the Best Marinara Sauce Yet to go along with them. They turned out really tasty. I used all ground pork and 1 large link of hot italian sausage. (Hubby used all of the ground beef the night before in his burgers)! I also added some grated Romano cheese along with the parmesan and a dash of salt and pepper. I baked my meatballs at 350 for about half and hour rather than pan-frying them. I was able to drain off quite a bit of oil. I let them simmer in the sauce for a while and they gave off a real "meaty" taste which we all enjoyed. Thanks Joiamia, this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Pretty good. Substituted a can of crushed for the sauce. Added a splash of red wine. I prefer using stale baguette buzzed in the blender then soaked in a little half and half instead of boxed bread crumbs. Also you needn't cook the meatballs in the fry pan, they can gently simmer in the sauce and their texture will be much softer. Don't leave the pork out of the meatballs! Mangia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have been searching for a recipe to resemble make my husband's Sicilian grandmother's homemade sauce, and this is the closest I have come! Alleluia! If you are used to American spaghetti sauce, this is not it. This is the real deal Italian stuff from the homeland. I pretty much followed the recipe to a t, but made a few additions: half of cup heavy cream and a cup of parm to the sauce to try and cut back on the acidity (parm was a mistake, it became too salty, next time I'll try carrots). Followed the meat-a ball :) instructions exactly and added six links of hot Italian sausage. TIP: don't pre-cook the meatballs (or sausage), just gently add to sauce and stir occasionally. They'll cook during the four hour simmering and will come out perfectly. If you are looking for authentic Italian meatballs and gravy, look no more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I've made this twice now and both times it was wonderful. This is almost as good as my Italian Grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
If you're looking for that authentic Italian taste you remember when you visited Italy...this is it. It's easy and simple to make and there are tons of leftovers. I made smaller sized meatballs and only used beef. Still came out fabulous! Now thats a spicy meatball! Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Used all beef and made only half the meatballs - used minced garlic (and doubled the amount of garlic called for) and sauce was amazing. Thanks so much for such a super easy WONDERFUL recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I made this sauce, froze a portion of it and a week later made the Hall of Fame "American Lasagna" from this site. Let me tell you....I've always been a good cook, but this was outrageous. This sauce has body. It has an attitude too....don't mess with it unless you're serious about your Italian food. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
My mother-in-law, who is Italian, actual was surprised at how well I made tomato sauce when I used this recipe . . . it is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States