Old Fashioned Sicilian Succo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I used this recipe for the meatballs only and made the Best Marinara Sauce Yet to go along with them. They turned out really tasty. I used all ground pork and 1 large link of hot italian sausage. (Hubby used all of the ground beef the night before in his burgers)! I also added some grated Romano cheese along with the parmesan and a dash of salt and pepper. I baked my meatballs at 350 for about half and hour rather than pan-frying them. I was able to drain off quite a bit of oil. I let them simmer in the sauce for a while and they gave off a real "meaty" taste which we all enjoyed. Thanks Joiamia, this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I have to give this recipe 5 stars because it is very, very delicious. I have been having a hard time getting my kids to eat tomato sauce because they hate onions and chunks of cooked tomato.I scaled it to 6 and followed the directions without adding or omitting anything. The secret is in the simmering!!! Italians are very patient that way. It was so nice to make a sauce that everyone loved from a recipe that had no bizarre ingredients (i.e. sugar, baking soda, I have seen it all) and NO dry Herbs- I used Hunt's tomato sauce. It was perfect! no additional salt, pepper, nothing! Thanks so much to Joiamia and her Nana. This sauce is going to be my new secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
this sauce was not bad...a little plain but it did have a nice richness to it. i added extra garlic and put minced garlic in the meatballs...i noticed that i needed to really season this sauce...maybe next time i should add oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I made this sauce, froze a portion of it and a week later made the Hall of Fame "American Lasagna" from this site. Let me tell you....I've always been a good cook, but this was outrageous. This sauce has body. It has an attitude too....don't mess with it unless you're serious about your Italian food. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Used all beef and made only half the meatballs - used minced garlic (and doubled the amount of garlic called for) and sauce was amazing. Thanks so much for such a super easy WONDERFUL recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This recipe was fantastic! I have made it many times, always to rave reviews. I have also given this recipe to many friends, they have all loved it. The two changes I have made are; I doubled the amount of garlic and I use italian seasoned pork sausage instead of plain ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
A good basic that kids will like. A little on the bland side for adult taste. The ingredients are easy enough to come by so this could be included in a basic meal plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This was the first time that I made spaghetti sauce. My husbands family is italian, and they said the sauce was better than Grandmas. It is easy and my family cannot get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
This was delicious! We were drooling from the smell all day and when we finally sat down we were not dissapointed. Rich and satisfying! This will be my permanent spaghetti and meatballs recipe! The meatballs were sooo good and I made a double batch to freeze some later for the most awesome meatball subs I've ever had! I did add a little more fresh parsley and fresh basil from my garden but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
My mother-in-law, who is Italian, actual was surprised at how well I made tomato sauce when I used this recipe . . . it is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States