Old Fashioned Sicilian Succo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I have to say that my family and I like this meatball recipe the best of all the ones I've tried on this site and I've tried a few, while they were really good, I think the texture of the meat was better since it used no eggs. I also added onions but that is a personal preference for my family. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I've made this twice now and both times it was wonderful. This is almost as good as my Italian Grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This sauce was delicious! I added a carrot, chopped, to balance any acidic tang from the tomatoes (and used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce), added one chopped onion and the whole family raved! I didn't have ground pork on hand, so I used Jimmy Dean bulk sausage with the ground beef for the meatballs and they were great! I will definately be making this recipe again----delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Grown ups love this, kids love this. My italian husband said it was most like his grandmother's recipe. Really simple sauce no chunks to prevent children or picky adults from eating. Makes a mountain of meatballs and sauce. Leftovers are awesome, will be trying some as suggested in lasagna today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I really love these meatballs, although I don't make them exactly as the recipe says. Since I'm only cooking for two, I only use 1 lb of ground beef and omit the pork all together. I use 1/3 cup each of bread crumbs/parmesan cheese. This makes plenty for 2. I follow the recipe for the tomato sauce exactly, and it always comes out great. I've made this recipe many times. I've served it over pasta, I've tweaked the recipe slightly to make it a "sweet and sour" meatball dish, and I've also made meatball subs out of it (french loaf cut in half with the middle scooped out, toasted under the broiler until just a little "crunchy", then slice the meatballs in half and lay on the bread, spoon a little sauce over all, add mozzarella cheese on top, stick back under the broiler until melted and viola!). Really versatile, tasty recipe that I will continue to use. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Good spaghetti and meatballs. I did add a little chopped onion and red pepper flakes to the sauce. I made a huge pot, and its almost all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
While this recipe was easy enough, I don't think it had much distinct flavor to it. My husband thought the meatballs were a little too mushy and the sauce needed "something". Maybe some red pepper flakes? This will be a recipe to play with, though ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
very good! I don't eat pork, so I used only beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
i have never made homemade meatballs, these were easy and great tasting. i will use the sauce all the time for everything. this was wonderful. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
If you're looking for that authentic Italian taste you remember when you visited Italy...this is it. It's easy and simple to make and there are tons of leftovers. I made smaller sized meatballs and only used beef. Still came out fabulous! Now thats a spicy meatball! Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States