Old Fashioned Sicilian Succo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
My kids and I were looking for an authentic Italian dish after studying Italy. This one was great. We didn't vary from the recipe. The meatballs were great with the combination of pork and beef. It made a ton of sauce! I think I would probably cut back on a little of the tomatoe sauce next time, but we will make these meatballs again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Very good. We are having the left-overs as meatball subs. The meatballs were a little dry to me. I might add an egg next time. Added quite a bit more garlic & Italian Seasonings. We liked it but didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
WOW!! What a great recipe! Will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Pretty good. Substituted a can of crushed for the sauce. Added a splash of red wine. I prefer using stale baguette buzzed in the blender then soaked in a little half and half instead of boxed bread crumbs. Also you needn't cook the meatballs in the fry pan, they can gently simmer in the sauce and their texture will be much softer. Don't leave the pork out of the meatballs! Mangia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was delicious and it makes a ton of sauce. I added a large chopped yellow onion, a tablespoon of red pepper flakes (adds a nice bit of subtle heat to the sauce), and a dash of oregano. And for the meatballs I added some black pepper and one egg. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I first made and reviewed this in January 2007, and I have made many, many times since. It is our absolute favorite meatball and sauce recipe. However...I do not like this made with tomato sauce, and I also bake my meatballs for a few minutes to brown rather than fry. I use crushed or ground tomatoes, and I always add chopped onion. Sometimes I add chopped roasted red peppers or carrots for a little sweetness if my tomatoes are particuarly acidic. Leftover sauce, makes a great pizza sauce. We used it on the Brick-oven pizza from this site (another favorite of ours), and it's wonderful--try adding thin slices of the meatballs to the pizza before popping in the oven--fabulous! We sometimes double the meatball recipe and make meatball sandwiches. It's also fantastic in lasagna. We love this sauce and the meatballs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This sauce was really good, however I do prefer a chunky spaghetti sauce. This one had a lot of flavor, and the meatballs were great (although I only used beef). I did add fresh, chopped mushrooms, I only wish I had added chopped onion and green pepper as I had intended. I served this with Easy Focaccia from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I personally thought something was missing from the meatballs...not too much flavor. My son loved this dish and so did my daughter. I couldn't get a comment from my husband. Not sure if I'll ever make again. It did take some time and made a big mess on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elkdag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I have to say that my family and I like this meatball recipe the best of all the ones I've tried on this site and I've tried a few, while they were really good, I think the texture of the meat was better since it used no eggs. I also added onions but that is a personal preference for my family. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I've made this twice now and both times it was wonderful. This is almost as good as my Italian Grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States