Old-Fashioned Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious! I will quote my mom: "I think this is the best shortcake I've ever had."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love this recipe! I made it just as written and the nutmeg flavor is wonderful. This will be my go-to recipe for strawberry shortcake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I cut this recipe in half, with 1 egg and almond milk baked it at 350* for 25mins. Till light golden. It was so light and fluffy. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was so yummy. My son wanted strawberry shortcake for his birthday and this was perfect. Everyone loved it! We ran out of strawberries so some of us just poured a little milk over it and it was delicious. I took the advice of other reviews and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes, perfect! Great flavors, not to sweet and loved the nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written (though I did have to bake an extra 10-15 minutes before it was set in the middle) and this was a FANTASTIC shortcake recipe! We had guests over, and all 5 of us LOVED this recipe. Delicious (especially with some fresh made whipped cream - YUMM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Omg this this recipe is so yum! I put cinnamon instead of nutmeg...its very similar to a snickerdoodle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie O'Herin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have made this several times. My husband and I love it. Best I ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! This is an easy-to-make, tasty shortcake recipe! I followed the recipe exactly as it was stated, only change is that I added a 1/4 tsp. cinnamon & baked it at 350 (mainly because our oven over bakes too easily at higher temps). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I added a little more sugar and it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Good flavor! I omitted the nutmeg and I added 1 tsp of REAL vanilla. Note: the baking time/temp needs adjusted. I'd suggest lowering temp to 350 and baking longer. I followed the recipe (450/15) and it was really dark on the outside but the middle was still gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States