Old-Fashioned Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Good flavor! I omitted the nutmeg and I added 1 tsp of REAL vanilla. Note: the baking time/temp needs adjusted. I'd suggest lowering temp to 350 and baking longer. I followed the recipe (450/15) and it was really dark on the outside but the middle was still gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! This is an easy-to-make, tasty shortcake recipe! I followed the recipe exactly as it was stated, only change is that I added a 1/4 tsp. cinnamon & baked it at 350 (mainly because our oven over bakes too easily at higher temps). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
ONLY reason this is getting a 3 star is because my worst fear came true. The oven to 450 degrees was too high - so it was golden and crispy on the outside and underdone in the center - I even tested with a toothpick, which came out clean (maybe it is my oven, but doubt it, I even baked it longer than recipe called for). JUST BEWARE so this doesn't happen to you, now I have to re-do and adjust to 375 or so.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this according to the recipe. It was wonderful. Softer than I expected, but it was great paired with the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have made this several times. My husband and I love it. Best I ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written (though I did have to bake an extra 10-15 minutes before it was set in the middle) and this was a FANTASTIC shortcake recipe! We had guests over, and all 5 of us LOVED this recipe. Delicious (especially with some fresh made whipped cream - YUMM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Omg this this recipe is so yum! I put cinnamon instead of nutmeg...its very similar to a snickerdoodle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie O'Herin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I added a little more sugar and it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious! I will quote my mom: "I think this is the best shortcake I've ever had."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was so yummy. My son wanted strawberry shortcake for his birthday and this was perfect. Everyone loved it! We ran out of strawberries so some of us just poured a little milk over it and it was delicious. I took the advice of other reviews and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes, perfect! Great flavors, not to sweet and loved the nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States