Old Fashioned Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
This is a great recipe, but I took it as a basic one, for me to fiddle with as I like. Dried parsley for me is akin to hay in flavour, so for me, fresh herbs from the garden (mixed in with the tomatoes) are a must. I have also made this not just with crushed crackers, but also diced French bread, and stuffing mix, and different cheeses. I have stopped draining the tomatoes, too, and just add a little more saltines or whatever. It is a great side dish to ANYTHING, and we love to make a meal of this with just some poached eggs and toast. My youngest calls it "lasagna", and leftovers are good on toast for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was a good side dish. I did use stuffing mix instead of the crackers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I thought this receipe was great. My daughter made it again the other night and added an egg to the mixture before adding in the diced tomatoes. My mother in law said it reminded her of a dish her mom used to make. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Since I didn't have the 28 oz can of tomatoes on hand I used 2-14.5 oz. cans. In the future I wouldn't drain them since I found the finished dish a little dry. Also I would add just a little sugar to cut the acid taste of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Would be 5 stars if the size of the baking dish had been included...served at a brunch and had raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Not much taste - might as well have heated a can of tomatoes. I might experiment with red pepper flakes, garlic, or something to spice it up..It certainly is easy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Good base recipe. I give 5 stars after I made a few changes. I sauted some onions and garlic and added some spinach and shredded chedder to the mix. Was also thinking that next time I might add some Feta instead of the parm. You can do anything you like... clean out the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b_v dh
Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is my ultimate comfort food. So easy to throw together and so satisfying as a side or a main. I love tomatoes with cheese so if I have it lying around I'll stir through some grated mozzarella before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I did not like this at all, maybe because I don't really care for canned tomatoes I guess. My husband liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This is an excellent tomato side dish. We aren't vegetarians, but anyone can enjoy this! It's great served with the Baked Salmon Filets Dijon in the Seafood section of Allrecipes. The flavors melded very well. Serve with rice pilaf and you have a fantastic meal everyone will enjoy! C. Ferris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States