Old Fashioned Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I had a quart of home canned tomatoes that did not seal so I needed a recipe to use them. I remember my mother making scalloped tomatoes so decided to give this a try. I added a shake of dried basil and about 1/4 cup of feta cheese. DH gave it a thumbs up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Nursery comfort food at its very best. I never use dried parsley bercause it has no taste. (Dried basil is another herb that doesn't dry successfully). I used fresh parsley but it can be omitted and dish won't suffer. Sometimes I use crackers and sometimes, cubed crusty bread, day-old. Butter should be left out for kid-friendly and heart-friendly recipe though a daub is fine. I love this food in the winter served hot and cold in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Good base recipe. I give 5 stars after I made a few changes. I sauted some onions and garlic and added some spinach and shredded chedder to the mix. Was also thinking that next time I might add some Feta instead of the parm. You can do anything you like... clean out the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b_v dh
Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is my ultimate comfort food. So easy to throw together and so satisfying as a side or a main. I love tomatoes with cheese so if I have it lying around I'll stir through some grated mozzarella before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was a pretty good dish. I don't think I'd ever heard of anything like this, and I was skeptical, when looking at the list of ingredients, that it could amount to anything interesting. But it did. I made it exactly as written, but instead of eating it as a side dish, I just had it for two consecutive lunches. I should note that the second half was just fine when reheated the next day. It was quick and easy; I may just make this for a potluck next week. Thanks for a pleasant surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Comfort food. I wouldn't really recommend this for anyone loving complex flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I thought this receipe was great. My daughter made it again the other night and added an egg to the mixture before adding in the diced tomatoes. My mother in law said it reminded her of a dish her mom used to make. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I made this recipe with some variations. I don't like saltines so I used crushed herb seasoned croutons and added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the tomatoes. I also stirred about 1/4 c of mozzarella cheese into the mixture and salt and fresh ground pepper then topped with the parmesan. After reading other reviews I added a little of the tomato juice to moisten but wish I hadn't, it was really mushy but the flavor was great. Tried the leftovers on toast per another reviewer...that was excellent. Will definatley make this again but don't think I would try the recipe as is...it sounds too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I didn't care for this recipe. If you imagine all the ingredients mixed up, that's what it tastes like. The flavors don't come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Would be 5 stars if the size of the baking dish had been included...served at a brunch and had raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States