Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I added a can of diced green chilies and a smidgen of cayenne. For the cracker topping I added some Parmesan cheese - it was really good, will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Comfort food night(or also known as broke-as-heck and using what's in the cupboards). I cut this back by half. Instead of using half a can of creamed corn, I used two full cans. I threw in some Frank's Hot Sauce into the creamed corn mixture. I used Ritz crackers because that was what I had on hand. I tossed a couple tablespoons of Kraft parmesan cheese (in the green canister) in with the cracker mixture before I sprinkled it over the creamed corn. My boys LOVED this--my oldest boy had two big helpings and asked for a third but my husband had already finished it off. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
VERY GOOD HOMEMADE SCALLOPED CORN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEEZ49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Everyone is complaining about canned corn. THAT is what Cali used in the recipe. If you do not like can then don't use the recipe! Make it with CORN on the COB. Very good recipe!! Thank You:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
this was so simple and delicious! a great comfort food, my family loved it for easter brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is an old, family recipe. I have been eating this for Thanksgiving since I was a baby! While it is not fancy or in any way wow-inducing compared to some of the recipes on this site, it is my idea of comfort food. It is a lovely side for a meal, easy to prepare, and just about everyone likes it. what more do you want? Tradition at its finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
The recipe was easy to make, but tasted like plain corn .... kinda bland. I even read the reviews and added bread crumbs and some grated parmesan cheese on top. If i try it again i will add some spices of some kind,to give it some flavor. I'll stick with baked corn for now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
was too buttery..fattening..i used ritz crackers...was a pool of butter on top of the casserole when i pulled it out of the oven. flavor was ok..but soooooo greasy/butterly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
JUST LIKE MY GRANDMA USED TO MAKE! I made this for Christmas dinner to go with my ham and it got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was I used Ritz crackers instead of saltines which I think makes a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner, and everyone liked it very much. I made it with 2 cans of cream corn, and 1 can of whole corn, and I added a pinch of sugar. I think maybe next time I might try 2 whole, and 1 can of cream corn. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States