Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Just what I was looking for. Just like Mom used to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmurfyGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I have to give it 5 stars because it was good. But it's pretty much the same as opening a can of creamed corn and heating it up. I also had trouble with the topping because it doesn't "sprinkle" that well, it chunks. So it was very uneven. I also cooked it for an hour like a few reviews said, which helped make it somewhat thicker in consistency. I think it's horrible to add that much butter to a dish that really doesn't need it. I won't be making this again, I'll just enjoy regular creamed corn like usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this for thanksgiving dinner, it was very good, but I did substitute one can of whole kernel corn for a can of cream corn. so I used 2 cream & 1 regular. I would also add some chopped onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I doubled this recipe and omitted one can of creamed and added a 15 oz pkg of white frozen corn which I steamed before adding. This was an excellent recipe. When doubled it took 65 to 70 minutes to bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe is runny and flavorless. I agree with other reviews that it tasted like plain old creamed corn out of the can. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used frozen corn and added a little evaporated milk and sour cream for more of a custard effect. I love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Soo good! I add a little extra paprika, and a whole sleeve of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACIEANN08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griswold, Iowa, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Not a huge fan of the original reecipe. Really just tasted like creamed corn and saltines. Maybe I will try with ritz next time and some onions for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seathings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good recipe, my family liked it even more with a bit of garlic salt and sprinkled parmesan cheese added to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My husband loved this - "It's just like my mom used to make!" - Yay!! I have been trying to find this recipe for years. Thank you for sharing! This recipe was really easy and really good - even my really picky kids liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States