Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I fixed this for Thanksgiving to take to my parents. My Grandma (85yo) has been wanting the recipe since then, She states this is the best she has had. She is from the country and I remember visiting when she made everything from scratch, her "canned" veggies etc.. were from a mason jar, butter was from a churn, ah to go back in time. Well, if she said it is the best, then it must be!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My husband has been trying to get me to make Scalloped Corn for about the past 16 years but with all the varying versions I was always leery on picking the right one. I decided to surprise him this last Thanksgiving using this recipe – I realize now that this dish needs about 15-20 minutes to ‘rest’ before serving. I got a second change at Thanksgiving dinner when my daughter and son-in-law came home to visit while on R&R from their tour in Iraq. This time I used 1 sleeve of cracker and ¼ cup butter in the corn mix and 1 sleeve of crackers and ½ cup butter on the top. A huge hit!! I was even asked to bring this as my passing dish for the Family Reunion ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebewaing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe is a great alternative to regular corn, which I would eat every night if my husband allowed me! The only thing that I changed was that I used 1 can cream corn and 1 can regular corn (scaled down the recipe). By adding regular corn, it had a "cornier" texture, as opposed to just creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is so easy and delicious. The only change I made was that I used one can of whole corn and two cans of creamed. I had this for a Thanksgiving side and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I made this recipe as a "run through" before the final day - just to make sure we liked the recipe & to see if I would want to serve it for Christmas dinner. Let me tell you, it was a hit! I didn't do my "timing" all that well, so I ended up cooking it in the microwave in a casserole dish & it was still fantastic! I've been to previous family gatherings where someone has brought Scalloped Corn & it wasn't very good, either too soupy or too thick. This one was just perfect. I would recommend this recipe - FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
One of my family Thanksgiving traditions is this dish - I always add a few extra crackers to thicken it a bit more! Excellent and very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexdolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Excellent, i cook it a little longer than the recipe calls for. About an hour or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
VERY GOOD! I made this yesterday for our Thanksgiving (I'm from Canada) dinner. I cut the recipe down a little as we didn't have that big of a group. Instead of creamed corn (I didn't have any) I used canned crisp sweet corn and added half a can of milk to make it "creamed". I used 1 egg, and halved the rest of the recipe. Came out perfect. My husband said it is now his favorite way to eat corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
My Grandmother made scalloped corn every holiday when I was growing up. This is the closest I've found to her recipe. It is a great recipe, easy, and turns out well. The only change I would make is to cook it just a little bit longer for a thicker consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
turned out great. I encreased the amount of crackers....worked really well. Put it this way...there were no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States