Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I really wanted to like this. I'm sorry to say it tasted just like saltine crackers and canned creamed corn. I guess it sounds silly, but somehow I was expecting something tasting less like crackers. I do like scalloped corn though, just this didn't taste how I expected. Very bland. Maybe using Ritz crackers next time and adding some cayenne? Thanks anyway, we didn't mind giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Good...I halfed the recipe and used one can of creamed corn, and one can of drained whole corn. I also used ritz crackers. Was a little watery, but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was exactly like my grandma used to make, and exactly what I was looking for! The cracker crumbs browned up perfectly on top, and it was overall perfect with Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Good but texture is a bit runny for me. I will drain some of the juices from the corn next time. The topping is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Could have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
very very good! thanks for the recipe. i followed it exactly. it was a little runny so next time i will add 1/2 package of crushed crackers. taste was obviously still excellent though! i did triple the topping and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This recipe is identical to the one that's been in the family for years upon years. My grandmother made this. When I bake the casserole, I follow the recommended time. it never looks quite done to me, but when it rests for a few minutes, it's perfect. It should be firm around the edges and just about firm in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was good. I followed the recipe as stated except that I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of crackers. This added a little extra flavor and worked just as well as the crackers. I also cooked it closer to 45 min. - 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is so easy and delicious. The only change I made was that I used one can of whole corn and two cans of creamed. I had this for a Thanksgiving side and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent recipe! Just like my mom makes! I increased the amount of crackers; I like it extra crunchy. I think next time I may add a splash of milk and a can of whole kernel corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IstyMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States