Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
A good brand of creamed corn is important with this recipe. I use Del Monte always with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy Ehlers Whitney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
i make this every year with rits crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
not very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I also used one can of regular corn ,used ritz crackers and only 1/4 cup of butter. Closest I've ever come to grandmother's. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made this for Christmas and it just didn't do it for us. I thought it was incredibly bland. Maybe it was the brand of creamed corn I used. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
For me, this recipe turned out like thickened cream corn. I followed the recipe exact and then added another cup of crackers. It was still very runny and had no flavor. Not the scalloped corn I was looking for at all but it might just be a different type than what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My husband's grandmother used to make Scalloped Corn for large family meals. When she passed away, so did her recipe. I tried this recipe about five years ago and all his siblings love it - it's just like Grandma's. Highly recommend this recipe - it's a tradition and now something I can pass down to my kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
well i scaled this recipe down to use just 1 can of corn. i used it as a side dish for me and my bf. I first i didn't really care for this dish but then i kept eating and eating it. so i guess it can't be that bad lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is so good! I used one can of whole corn and two creamed corn because I like it thicker. I didn't put the topping on and mixed it all in instead. Turned out great! My husband liked it and he normally won't eat stuff like this. He even went back for seconds. Next time I will try it without so much butter. I think it would be ok with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I was low in the pantry and found this recipe by using the ingredient search tool. I used Ritz butter crackers since I didn't have saltines...This was very good, a nice change from the regular corn casseroles that use corn muffin mix. Thanks Cali.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States