Old-Fashioned Roasted Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe! I made a couple of changes after reading the reviews; vanilla instead of water, 2 egg whites and 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. My father loves pecans and I served this at his 60th birthday party. So many people asked me for this recipe I lost count after a while. Absolutely delicious and addiciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
442 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I changed this just a little and they are now my favorite nuts. In place of the white sugar, I used brown sugar. I also add a small amount of cumin and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
A+ I tested this recipe a number of times. They are wonderfully sweet and adicting as is. A few changes I made: replace the water with vanilla as already suggested; use the called amount salt in the mix, and add an even sprinkle of seasoned salt to each batch and stir before baking. This makes for a "sweet and salty" pecan that is hard to close your mouth to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Used 1/4c Splenda w/ 1/4c splenda brown sugar for the perfect and easy diabetic treat. Made 2nd batch w/almond extract and spice cake spice w/ cinnamon..just as good, great gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
These were good. They did need some modifications. I used 2 egg whites, half white sugar half brown, and also added vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSTRAWDER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe is amazing! The cinnamon sugar just made a nice coating on the outside of the nuts. I'm sure you could use peanuts or cashews for this recipe also. I made it with pre-roasted pecans, and it was just phenominal! This is a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Wonderful treat just like at the fair. I did tweak as recommended: sugar/br sugar, 2 egg whites, vanilla. Next time I will add more cinnamon or some cayenne for more kick. For those worried about cleanup-it was as easy as cleaning up after cookies...no worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
ADDICTING!!!! These are SO good... I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I ended up using 2 egg whites and 2 tbs water. Try these as a salad topper in place of crutons.. you won't regret it!!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
DEEEEEEEE-LICIOUS! i also did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar after reading other reviewers and added a pinch of caenne pepper...mmm mmm...too good. my husband is not home from work yet and i just hope i don't eat it all before he arrives! thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My husband says that these are like crack! He couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States