Old-Fashioned Roasted Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I've been looking for this recipe for a LONG time! I've only been able to get them during 4th of July from stands or at baseball games! It's a definite must-have in an recipe book! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made these with two egg whites, split the white and brown sugar and vanilla instead of water. Happy Happy Happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Goodin
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These were absolutely amazing and so easy it's unreal. I made one batch that my hubby and girls devoured and wanted to know when I was making more. Then the guys I work with tried them with the same response. Needless to say I ended up making about 10 pounds worth this past December.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barnsdall, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Just tried this recipe, it was great. Can't wait to serve it at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time, heeding the comments below and they were excellent. Vanilla instead of water.. half brown half white sugar, a pinch of cayenne for that tingle on the tongue. The aroma was wonderful in the house.. brought some to my neighbors and they devoured them. I will make these for Christmas next week and start the new tradition! It helps that I have 2 huge pecan trees in the yard to work from! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
AMAZING! So easy! They taste like the roasted pecans you get at Disney World! I did use vanilla instead of water and used 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar. This is my favorite recipe I've tried from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These were soooo good. After reading the other reviews I used 2 egg whites, vanilla instead of water, brown sugar instead of white and added a pinch of cayenne. I also used a mix of pecans, almonds and cashews. I did use more nuts than called for and upped coating amts some to accommodate that and as such did follow one reviewers advice and baked them a little longer, 1 hr 20min as at 1 hour the coating just seemed to need a little more time yet. My husband went crazy over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Outstanding! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
OMG! OMGoodness! Scrumptious! I sprinkled vanilla extract over the pecans halfway through the roasting. The vanilla extract added more flavor! I also roasted them a little longer than an hour (about one hour/twenty mintues) to really get that roasted flavor locked in. I will definitely have to roast more tomorrow! Pecans are my favorite nut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These are absolutely delicious. I've made them by the recipe and they are great. Having made them a few times I've made a few adjustments to suit my tastes. I use 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. After mixing the pecans with the sugar mixture in a plastic bag and spreading them out on my sheet pan, I sprinkle them with a little additional coarse salt. Can't beat the salty sweet combination!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States