Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
This IS old-fashioned rice puddng, and it IS suppose to be rice cooked in sweetened milk - exactly what my mom and grandmother use to make. I love it, and I use Splenda! Thanks for bringing it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Always the best recipe! I, too, was raised on this one. I even make it with skim milk, and it's still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Yu-um! This was my very first time making rice pudding. I did have to cook for 2 1/2 hours instead of 1 1/2, but it was soooo worth the wait. I'm trying a little vanilla in the milk next time, just for fun, like some of the other readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This recipe is great! Because we always have rice left over, I added cooked rice instead, also added a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorey
Living In: Goulds, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Excellent! I used to get this as a kid, it sure takes me back! I used reconstituted milk to make this and it turned out fine. Also, mine finished faster than others' apparently did. Keep an eye on your cooking time -- it may vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This was awesome - exactly like my grandmothers. I added some vanilla extract to the milk for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was the best low fat rice pudding recipe I have found. I suggest that you put some flavoring into the milk while it is warming for example vanilla or almond extract. The pudding has a lovely color and is very creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I was so glad to see this recipe! This is the style of rice pudding we (my 3 sisters and I) were raised on. My Grandma always called it "Poor Man's Rice Pudding" because of the small amount of rice used. I remember her telling me that her Grandmother had made it for her when she was a little girl! This is the original comfort food in my opinion! The only thing Grandma did different(from what I remember) was to add about 1t. each of vanilla and cinnamon to the recipe. Again, thanks so much for the great memories and giving me the chance to share this with my kids!2/01/08 I have to add some add'l comments to my original review after seeing the bad reviews this recipe is receiving. As the submitter states you have to stir this pudding every 15 minutes during the first hour so that the rice gets distributed evenly. Also, this pudding takes a long time to cook. Two hours is the time I usually end up baking it. Finally, the pudding usually ends up with a brown "skin" across at least part of the top after baking. This is o.k., it's supposed to be there. My sisters and I used to fight over this part! I guess it just depends on what you were brought up with. To me, the thick, stove-top type of rice pudding just doesn't taste good at all. This recipe, on the other hand, is sublime :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Thanks for this quick and easy rice pudding, my 11yr old son and I were craveing something sweet late one night, but I live in the country and I had everything for this recipe when I saw it online. It hit the spot. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Just like I had growing up! The rice will absorb all of the milk it just might take longer in different ovens. I left out the salt as my Mum never used it. Really nice treat, thanks for posting it!!! Also add some raisins (1/4 cup) and some freshly grated nutmeg with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States