Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Thanks for this quick and easy rice pudding, my 11yr old son and I were craveing something sweet late one night, but I live in the country and I had everything for this recipe when I saw it online. It hit the spot. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This recipe is great! Because we always have rice left over, I added cooked rice instead, also added a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorey
Living In: Goulds, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Always the best recipe! I, too, was raised on this one. I even make it with skim milk, and it's still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
It was literally soup and the rice did not even have any texture. I cooked it about the minimum time. I also added cinnamon and vanilla. It was a fiasco and very upsetting considering a lot of the ingredients I used were organic. What a terrible, terrible waste. I also added about 1 tbsp. extra rice, which clearly didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is great in a pinch! You don't need much to make it and it turns out wonderfully creamy and yummy! Not at all runny like I thought it would be. If you follow the recipe, it does turn out. You may need to bake it for up to two hours to achieve the desired consistency. I recommend adding some almond or vanilla extract to boost the flavor a bit. I added some cinnamon. It would have been better if I had added the extract as well. It's perfect for the kids because it's not too sweet. I skipped the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Tasted good but the consistency turned out wrong. It was all runny no matter how long it was refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I was so glad to see this recipe! This is the style of rice pudding we (my 3 sisters and I) were raised on. My Grandma always called it "Poor Man's Rice Pudding" because of the small amount of rice used. I remember her telling me that her Grandmother had made it for her when she was a little girl! This is the original comfort food in my opinion! The only thing Grandma did different(from what I remember) was to add about 1t. each of vanilla and cinnamon to the recipe. Again, thanks so much for the great memories and giving me the chance to share this with my kids!2/01/08 I have to add some add'l comments to my original review after seeing the bad reviews this recipe is receiving. As the submitter states you have to stir this pudding every 15 minutes during the first hour so that the rice gets distributed evenly. Also, this pudding takes a long time to cook. Two hours is the time I usually end up baking it. Finally, the pudding usually ends up with a brown "skin" across at least part of the top after baking. This is o.k., it's supposed to be there. My sisters and I used to fight over this part! I guess it just depends on what you were brought up with. To me, the thick, stove-top type of rice pudding just doesn't taste good at all. This recipe, on the other hand, is sublime :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Yu-um! This was my very first time making rice pudding. I did have to cook for 2 1/2 hours instead of 1 1/2, but it was soooo worth the wait. I'm trying a little vanilla in the milk next time, just for fun, like some of the other readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I was worried about the small amount of rice, so I added extra, mistake. Teh second time I followed the recipe and it was GREAT!! Just like in Turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was the best low fat rice pudding recipe I have found. I suggest that you put some flavoring into the milk while it is warming for example vanilla or almond extract. The pudding has a lovely color and is very creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States