Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Delisious!!!! Every time i make rice pudding i come to this recipe.... Definatly one of my FAVORITES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I was short 1 cup milk BUT happened to have Great Value French Vanilla coffee creamer which a friend had left. I used a cup of this, 3 cups milk and eliminated the sugar due to the sweetness of the creamer. My oh my..........I think I'll try hazelnut next time. It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Amazing! This recipe turned out delicious. I'm not a big fan of rice pudding, but my boyfriend is, so I decided to try this one out. I added vanilla extract and cinnamon sticks for extra flavor. The rice pudding turned out to be delicious and creamy indeed! I must say that I really do like rice pudding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My husband loves rice pudding and when I made this, he absolutely loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yes! Traditional English rice pudding like my mum made. This is not the thick, stodgy american-style (no offense intended, just trying to clarify). This is the runny, creamy English-style. I just ate my first delicious helping, and I thought a couple of tips might be helpful: out the outset this seemed like it would make a very small amount, but actually it made five generous helpings. I used 1 cup half & half with 3 cups 2% milk to make sure it was creamy enough. It was plenty creamy, in fact next time I will use all 2%. I used 1/3 cup of brown rice (not white) and it worked just fine, but I did have to cook it for 3 hours. It was more sweet than I needed - next time I will try 1/4 cup sugar or less. I did not need to cover it, but I did stir it every 15 mins for 1 1/2 hours. Thank you, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I gave this four stars instead of five due to the cooking time recommended. This is exactly like my grandmother's recipe except I have to cook it for 2 1/2 - 3 hours, stirring every 1/2 hour. Otherwise it would be soupy with the rice still hard, as JoSH noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Just like I had growing up! The rice will absorb all of the milk it just might take longer in different ovens. I left out the salt as my Mum never used it. Really nice treat, thanks for posting it!!! Also add some raisins (1/4 cup) and some freshly grated nutmeg with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I'm sorry but the recipe did not hold true to the amount of ingred that were posted. I doubled the recipe and ended up using 2 cups of rice to absorb all the milk. In the end it was wonderful but I yhink you need to recalculate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
my grandmother always made us rice pudding growing up. this recipe is so close. We use cook rice instead add some cinnamon and vanilla and you got a winner. The cooked rice cuts the cooking time in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was the recipe I was looking for. Growing up, my mom made a baked rice pudding all the time, and over the last 20 years, since she died I have been looking for the recipe!! This recipe was close, but not quite it. I followed the recipe exactly, and it took 3 hours at 300 to cook to be thicker. When my mom made it she had to make it for 6 kids and my two parents, so the recipe was doubled. The best bet, that I am going to try next time is 1/2 cup of rice to the quart of milk...add in some raisins, and the teaspoon of cinnamon. Everything else is good. Stir it every so often for the first hour and wait for the top to brown...mmmmmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States