Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Gross, bland and just completely unsatisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this recipe as a kid about 30 years ago and have been looking for it ever since! I used skim milk and it still came out thick and creamy although I did cook it about 2 hours (although I could have taken it out 15 to 30 minutes earlier...I used a jasmine rice and rinsed it even though the recipe said not too...I ate some of it warm, right out of the oven and then added a touch of cinnamon before chilling it...it doesn't necessarily need the cinnamon but I love cinnamon! I will make this again and again! Creamy, simple, and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by undaflavor
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made this for the broncos vs patriots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My first failure with allrecipes. I've ended up with a very watery mess with a thick crust/skin on the top. I added sultanas hoping to soak up some of the extra liquid, but it doesn't seem to be helping much. It's been cooking for 2 hours, I'm going to leave it for another half hour - I'm not sure it could get worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I followed others advice with adding vanilla and almond extract. It took about 2hrs to cook. My husband raved about it. Never again will I buy rice pudding from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Used 1% milk and Splenda. Made as written and it came out a bit runny. My British mother, who's been eating and making rice pudding for 80 years, advised a change to 275 degrees and baking for 2 hours. Tried that the second time and it became thicker and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe uses way too much milk. It's like sweet rice soup. Additionally, I added approximately 1/4 cup raisins, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, another tablespoon of sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla. Delicious, but if I make it again, I'm cutting the milk down by 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is the bread pudding I remember my mother making when I was a child. I was raised in a poor household and nothing was ever wasted. I had some left over cranberry orange scones I made for St. Pat's day so I decided to try this recipe using them. Delicious! The only thing I added was a little cinnamon/sugar on the top. I didn't even bother with the sauce since I didn't have any cream on hand and didn't feel like running to the store for it. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe and bringing back some very happy childhood memories. Almost forgot. I did use about a cup of 1/2 and 1/2 since I had it available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is not "CUSTARD" style rice pudding!!!! Yay! I finally found the recipe my mom taught me to make. I add vanilla bean to give it some depth, you can add extract at the end if you don't have beans. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maritimeukranian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The only changes I made were to mix in some cinnamon and to bake for 1hr and 50 min. I probably could have kept it in the oven a tad longer. In the future, I would add some vanilla to the milk for extra flavor. I, however, enjoyed the taste and loved the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States