Old-Fashioned Rice Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is the old-fashioned version; raw rice, milk, sugar, butter. (You might want to add vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom, etc). Or even dress it up with half and half or cream, add raisins or other dried fruits. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Gross, bland and just completely unsatisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this recipe as a kid about 30 years ago and have been looking for it ever since! I used skim milk and it still came out thick and creamy although I did cook it about 2 hours (although I could have taken it out 15 to 30 minutes earlier...I used a jasmine rice and rinsed it even though the recipe said not too...I ate some of it warm, right out of the oven and then added a touch of cinnamon before chilling it...it doesn't necessarily need the cinnamon but I love cinnamon! I will make this again and again! Creamy, simple, and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by undaflavor
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made this for the broncos vs patriots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My first failure with allrecipes. I've ended up with a very watery mess with a thick crust/skin on the top. I added sultanas hoping to soak up some of the extra liquid, but it doesn't seem to be helping much. It's been cooking for 2 hours, I'm going to leave it for another half hour - I'm not sure it could get worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I followed others advice with adding vanilla and almond extract. It took about 2hrs to cook. My husband raved about it. Never again will I buy rice pudding from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Used 1% milk and Splenda. Made as written and it came out a bit runny. My British mother, who's been eating and making rice pudding for 80 years, advised a change to 275 degrees and baking for 2 hours. Tried that the second time and it became thicker and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe uses way too much milk. It's like sweet rice soup. Additionally, I added approximately 1/4 cup raisins, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, another tablespoon of sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla. Delicious, but if I make it again, I'm cutting the milk down by 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is the bread pudding I remember my mother making when I was a child. I was raised in a poor household and nothing was ever wasted. I had some left over cranberry orange scones I made for St. Pat's day so I decided to try this recipe using them. Delicious! The only thing I added was a little cinnamon/sugar on the top. I didn't even bother with the sauce since I didn't have any cream on hand and didn't feel like running to the store for it. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe and bringing back some very happy childhood memories. Almost forgot. I did use about a cup of 1/2 and 1/2 since I had it available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is not "CUSTARD" style rice pudding!!!! Yay! I finally found the recipe my mom taught me to make. I add vanilla bean to give it some depth, you can add extract at the end if you don't have beans. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maritimeukranian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States