Old Fashioned Rhubarb Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was GREAT. Everyone enjoyed it and it ended up being a 9x12 dish. I used 2 cans of 250ml sweetened milk which is more then a 14 oz can . I would use a bit more rhubarb and slice them 1/2 in thick instead of 1/4 in and then there would be more flavor distinction. i also used up old buns from the freezer which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was frugal and fantastic. I used up all the leftover hot dog buns, bread heels and dried out whole wheat rolls that I had accumulated in the freezer and it was delicious. Followed the directions to a "t" and maybe used 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb, diced 1/2 inch. Put a dab of vanilla ice cream on it and we ate it for dessert. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This rates right up there as one of the best bread puddings I've had. I followed the recipe exactly and I really liked the soft, but not mushy, texture that you find with some bread puddings. I topped with whipped cream, but a good vanilla cream sauce would suit this well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Excellent! Used frozen rhubarb (gently drained), didn't have roasting pan with water so covered for 30 minutes of cooking time....EXCELLENT!!!! Thanks for sharing a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This Rhubarb Bread Pudding was delicious. I followed the recipe as submitted, but made a rum sauce and served the sauce warm over the warm bread pudding (topped with whipped cream). It was moist and delicious. Since I was not sure how small to chop the rhubarb pieces, I made them rather small. Next time I will make the rhubarb pieces a medium size chop for a stronger tart flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Comes out lovely and crunchy on top. Kids loved it, and it reheats well. I used 1.5cm pieces of rhubarb as suggested by previous reviewer to add extra tang. Great recipe, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was awesome. I didn't change a thing and it turned out perfectly in the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Yummy as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe. I didn't use the additional sugar, it was plenty sweet enough with the sweetened condensed milk. I also only used 4 eggs (what I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kittymom
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I just took this out of the oven and couldn't wait to dive in - it smelled heavenly! I just added a little whipped cream on top and it is DELISH! I used some old hot dog buns and frozen rhubarb from last year (drained VERY well). I was concerned it might be too sweet with the sweetened condensed milk and added sugar but worried for nothing - don't change anything. I had extra bread and rhubarb so I used a 9x9 pan but it was still done in 1 hour. I will be begging friends and neighbors for any extra rhubarb to make again! UPDATE: Just made this using 1 pint fresh blueberries (on sale for 99 cents!) and it was just as good, if not better, than the original. Also used almond extract instead of vanilla. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States