Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
OH YEAH!!! My family absolutely love this pie. The only thing I will do differently the next time I make it is double the filling recipe to better fill my deep dish pie pans. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Good as is, but adding finely grated lemon zest and lemon juice (instead of vinegar) makes for more depth of flavor. Once I did this, my mother-in-law (whose family was Pennsylvania Dutch) thought the taste was "just right."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a wonderful pie! My dad has been requesting a raisin pie for weeks. My mother (now deceased) used to make Dad raisin pies, but I never got her recipe, and I have not been able to find the one she used. I printed this receipe off and made it without making any changes. It was delicious! My dad loved it and said it was the best raisin pie he has ever had, and he has had many raisin pies over the years! I think this had to be my mom's recipe. It is very easy to make, and it tastes great! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This pie was exceptional. I did use lemon juice in place of the vinegar and doubled the filling. There would definitely not been enough filling had you followed the recipe. I used a 9 inch pie pan. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this for my husband's birthday, because he loves raisin pie, and he really loves this one! I made a few changes---I substituted 1/4 cup of spiced rum for an equal amount of the water, I used lemon juice in place of the vinegar, and I used a mix of golden raisins with regular raisins, because I have found golden raisins to plump more and be sweeter/tastier. Love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I made this pie as a special favor for a friend of mine (even though I'd never heard of such a thing)and he said this was the best raisin pie he'd ever eaten. I have a feeling I will get additional requests for it in the future. My only comment is that I would make 1 1/2 to 2 times the filling because I like my fruit pies to be HIGH. I also like to brush the crust with milk and sprinkle with granulated sugar before I bake it. This makes for a very pretty presentation and a tastier "bone".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
This is EXCELLENT raisin pie. I used frozen pie crust and it turned out great. For anyone who has never tried raisin pie, try this one. It is YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I found this recipe by accident, and remembered I've had a raisin pie as a kid, tho I don't remember where. Easy to make, using a ready made pie crust, and it was a hit. My wife, who doesn't even CARE for raisins liked it. It was a hit at our church supper as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
If you want raisin pie use this recipe!! I can eat this all of the time! I can't stop eating this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Raisin Pie is my Dad's favourite so I made this for his birthday. I have to give it 5 stars based on his review, which was an enthusiastic 'wouldn't change a thing'. Um, he didn't share any of it with anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States