Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
My grandma used to make half moon raisin pies. She would roll out small pie crusts about 8in in diameter and fold them over and pinch the sides, and they were delicious! This is the same recipe, only in one big pie instead of small ones. She didn't put vinegar in her raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Deen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Good as is, but adding finely grated lemon zest and lemon juice (instead of vinegar) makes for more depth of flavor. Once I did this, my mother-in-law (whose family was Pennsylvania Dutch) thought the taste was "just right."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
To be fair, this is the first raisin pie I've tried. Maybe we just don't like raisin pie. It tasted like raisins in a crust--nothing special or spectacular. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spunkybaker
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Made this for my father, who hadn't had a raisin pie in years. Served with vanilla ice cream and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I found this recipe by accident, and remembered I've had a raisin pie as a kid, tho I don't remember where. Easy to make, using a ready made pie crust, and it was a hit. My wife, who doesn't even CARE for raisins liked it. It was a hit at our church supper as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this for my husband's birthday, because he loves raisin pie, and he really loves this one! I made a few changes---I substituted 1/4 cup of spiced rum for an equal amount of the water, I used lemon juice in place of the vinegar, and I used a mix of golden raisins with regular raisins, because I have found golden raisins to plump more and be sweeter/tastier. Love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
The best raisin pie I've had since my grandmother's, It was absolutely wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Very very tasty.... The only change I made was to add about a cup of homemade applesauce under the raisins as I love apple and raisin together, and like lots of filling in my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I made this pie for my father on Fathers' Day because he said he just loves raisin pie and hasn't had it for soooo long. Well, both he and my husband said the pie was outstanding. It was also easy to make. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. I discovered, however, that I'm not as much of a raisin pie fan as my father and husband. I will make it again - - for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Loved this!! I have many Pennsylvania Dutch relatives and couldn't find my mom's raisin pie recipe. This fit the bill Perfectly. I received many rave reviews on this recipe. Thanks so much Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States