Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I went looking for a raisin pie recipe for my dad. When I gave it to him, he said it tasted just like the ones my grandmom used to make. It was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Flavor just like I remember as a kid. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYWAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Very good and very easy recipe! My husband loved it and just about ate the whole pie himself! I did sub.lemon juice for vingar. Great recipe, Thank's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Thayer
Home Town: Birch Run, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Excellent pie. I made it exactly as recipe called for. Good texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
My grandma used to make half moon raisin pies. She would roll out small pie crusts about 8in in diameter and fold them over and pinch the sides, and they were delicious! This is the same recipe, only in one big pie instead of small ones. She didn't put vinegar in her raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Deen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Good as is, but adding finely grated lemon zest and lemon juice (instead of vinegar) makes for more depth of flavor. Once I did this, my mother-in-law (whose family was Pennsylvania Dutch) thought the taste was "just right."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
To be fair, this is the first raisin pie I've tried. Maybe we just don't like raisin pie. It tasted like raisins in a crust--nothing special or spectacular. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spunkybaker
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Made this for my father, who hadn't had a raisin pie in years. Served with vanilla ice cream and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I found this recipe by accident, and remembered I've had a raisin pie as a kid, tho I don't remember where. Easy to make, using a ready made pie crust, and it was a hit. My wife, who doesn't even CARE for raisins liked it. It was a hit at our church supper as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this for my husband's birthday, because he loves raisin pie, and he really loves this one! I made a few changes---I substituted 1/4 cup of spiced rum for an equal amount of the water, I used lemon juice in place of the vinegar, and I used a mix of golden raisins with regular raisins, because I have found golden raisins to plump more and be sweeter/tastier. Love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States