Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great pie!!!! Just like Grandma use to make!!! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This pie was exceptional. I did use lemon juice in place of the vinegar and doubled the filling. There would definitely not been enough filling had you followed the recipe. I used a 9 inch pie pan. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
My husband was been begging for a raisin pie for his birthday for the past 10 years. I found this one and decided to give it a try. It was wonderful! I was very skeptic of liking it, but I will make it again and again. It was so easy! I did use lemon juice and zest and Iadded Bacardi rum and vanilla extract to the water when I cooked the raisins. I am very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gensler Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
OH YEAH!!! My family absolutely love this pie. The only thing I will do differently the next time I make it is double the filling recipe to better fill my deep dish pie pans. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This wasn't what I expected. If you really, really like raisins, then you would probably rate this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong, but it didn't thicken up like my grandmother's use to I think next time I will add some corn starch but other wise it was good tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
The lemon juice and the lemon zest make this pie a little too lemony for me. I'll cut back on the zest to about 1/2 next time and this will be a 5-star pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a wonderful pie! My dad has been requesting a raisin pie for weeks. My mother (now deceased) used to make Dad raisin pies, but I never got her recipe, and I have not been able to find the one she used. I printed this receipe off and made it without making any changes. It was delicious! My dad loved it and said it was the best raisin pie he has ever had, and he has had many raisin pies over the years! I think this had to be my mom's recipe. It is very easy to make, and it tastes great! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. I use Splenda brown sugar blend to cut back on the sugar and the pie disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I went looking for a raisin pie recipe for my dad. When I gave it to him, he said it tasted just like the ones my grandmom used to make. It was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States