Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Pretty good, nice rasiny flavor, easy to make. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
AWESOME Recipe!! I did double the recipe, and it was a perfect fit for my crust. I also used lemon juice instead of vinegar. I would highly recommend this recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe. One small change is to add one more tablespoon of cornstarch to the filling to stiffen it a bit more so it doesn't flow out of the crust when you cut the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I was looking for a good old fashion raisin pie recipe to make for my parents (Mom 86, Dad 90) and this one was a big hit with them, with each eating seconds. I did use lemon juice instead of the vinegar as other reviews mentioned. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My grandpa asked for a raisin pie for his 85th birthday, I had never made one before, so I made this one. It made his birthday! Everyone else liked it too- Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My husband loves this pie.We have made it several times and while it's not my favorite he really loves it.He has to have it every year for Thanksgiving.I think it tastes best warm out of the oven.It's good with vailla ice cream too.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this pie for thanksgiving this year. I actually tripled the recipe because i was making a deep dish pie. And it turned out wonderful. I did not make any changes at all and it was so good. It was the first time i made and ate raisin pie, im actually eating a piece now as i type. I made it for my grandmothers whose favorite pie is raisin and they LOVED it. I recommend if you have tried this recipe to do so. Its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is in my oven as we speak--didn't feel the need to change a thing. My first raisin pie, and I was surprised how fast and easy it was to make. By the way, i love old recipes...and this is gonna be in MY family's heirloom recipe box, too!! So Grateful it was submitted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Definitely a great raisin pie! I made this to share with Mom & Dad and they loved it! Using a store bought crust, I found this to be a quick & easy. The recipe is wonderful as written. I will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and this pie turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States