Old Fashioned Raisin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Raisin Pie is my Dad's favourite so I made this for his birthday. I have to give it 5 stars based on his review, which was an enthusiastic 'wouldn't change a thing'. Um, he didn't share any of it with anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was so easy. I followed recipe exactly and it turned out great. Not too sweet, but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My husband says this is one of the best Raisin Pie he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary DeMeyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I'm not a fan of raisin anything so I'm rating this for my mom. Raisin pie is her FAVORITE and I made this just for her. I followed the recipe exactly, but added a little more cinnamon and about a teaspoon of orange zest. She said it was perfect - just the way a raisin pie should be...and then she took the whole thing home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
The best raisin pie I've ever had the pleasure of making. I followed someone else's hint of using fresh lemon juice instead of vinegar & add a tad more cornstarch for extra thickening. I also like to mix a little powdered sugar & cream together & drizzle over the cooled pie. Always gets raves. Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Pretty good, nice rasiny flavor, easy to make. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
AWESOME Recipe!! I did double the recipe, and it was a perfect fit for my crust. I also used lemon juice instead of vinegar. I would highly recommend this recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe. One small change is to add one more tablespoon of cornstarch to the filling to stiffen it a bit more so it doesn't flow out of the crust when you cut the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I was looking for a good old fashion raisin pie recipe to make for my parents (Mom 86, Dad 90) and this one was a big hit with them, with each eating seconds. I did use lemon juice instead of the vinegar as other reviews mentioned. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My grandpa asked for a raisin pie for his 85th birthday, I had never made one before, so I made this one. It made his birthday! Everyone else liked it too- Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States